+612 9045 4394
The Punishment She Deserves : Inspector Lynley Series : Book 20 - Elizabeth George

The Punishment She Deserves

Inspector Lynley Series : Book 20


Published: 20th March 2018
RRP $29.99
We are temporarily out of stock. More copies are on order with our supplier. Your order will be allocated from this new delivery. Click here for more delivery details.

Award-winning author Elizabeth George delivers another masterpiece of suspense in her Inspector Lynley series: Lynley and his pugnacious and deeply loyal Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers find themselves up against one of the most sinister murder cases they have ever encountered.

When a Member of Parliament shows up in the office of the Assistant Commissioner at New Scotland Yard, trouble quickly follows. He is there to request an investigation into the suicide of the son of one of his constituents in the medieval town of Ludlow, who happens to be a wealthy brewer with a team of solicitors ready to file a major lawsuit over the death. The Assistant Commissioner sees two opportunities in this request: the first is to have an MP owing him a favour, and the second is to get rid of Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, whose career at the Met has been hanging by a thread for quite some time.

So he assigns Barbara Havers to the case and partners her not with her regular partner but with the one person who shares his enthusiasm for ridding the Metropolitan Police of Barbara Havers, Detective Chief Superintendent Isabelle Ardery. But Ardery has her own difficulties, the most heartbreaking of which is the loss of her twin sons to a move to New Zealand. She is not happy to be sent away from London and as a result is in a rush to return. This rush causes her to overlook things, important things, and prevents her from uncovering an earlier crime that set everything in motion.

About the Author

Elizabeth George is the author of highly acclaimed novels of psychological suspense. Her first novel, A Great Deliverance, was honoured with the Anthony and Agatha Best First Novel awards in America and received the Grand Prix de Litt rature Polici re in France. It was made into a BBC 1 Drama in March 2001. Well-Schooled in Murder was awarded the prestigious German prize for international mystery fiction, the MIMI (1990). An Edgar and Macavity Nominee as well as a New York Times and international bestselling author, Elizabeth George divides her time between California and Kensington, London.


Elizabeth George at her best still


Great story-line, great characters, you can almost read their thoughts.

Victoria Australia


I would buy this author (Elizabeth George) again


I find Elizabeth George good and easy to read. Her Inspector Lynley series is especially intriguing. If you enjoy "Who Done Its" this is for you.

Melbourne, Australia


The Punishment She Deserves

5.0 2


Praise for Elizabeth George:

Her crime novels combine Victorian craftsmanship, psychological observation and ingenious plotting. George's celebrated attention to detail keeps the reader totally immersed. Bliss. - Saga

She's a designer of fastidious mosaics that never fail to intrigue - Guardian

She writes extremely well, plots brilliantly and reaches an emotional level deeper than most - The Times

Presses all the buttons to make us hoover her stuff up - Daily Telegraph

The best plotter in the mystery game, [her] elegant literate flow puts many Brits to shame - Time Out

ISBN: 9781444786620
ISBN-10: 1444786628
Series: Inspector Lynley
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 560
Published: 20th March 2018
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.5 x 15.2  x 4.5
Weight (kg): 0.79
Edition Number: 1