Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Poet X - Elizabeth Acevedo

The Poet X

By: Elizabeth Acevedo

Paperback | 3 May 2018 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $19.99

$18.95

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
A powerful novel with an unforgettable voice, perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur, The Hate U Give and Sarah Crossan's One.

Xiomara has always kept her words to herself. When it comes to standing her ground in her Harlem neighbourhood, she lets her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But X has secrets - her feelings for a boy in her bio class, and the notebook full of poems that she keeps under her bed. And a slam poetry club that will pull those secrets into the spotlight.

Because in spite of a world that might not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to stay silent.

A novel about finding your voice and standing up for what you believe in, no matter how hard it is to say. Brave, bold and beautifully written, this is perfect for fans of Orangeboy, Nicola Yoon's Everything Everything and Zoella Book Club choice Moxie.

About the Author

Elizabeth Acevedo was born and raised in New York City and her poetry is infused with Dominican bolero and her beloved city's tough grit. She holds a BA in Performing Arts from The George Washington University and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Maryland. With over twelve years of performance experience, Acevedo has been a featured performer on BET and Mun2, as well as delivered several TED Talks. She has performed internationally and her poetry has been featured in Cosmopolitan, The Huffington Post and Teen Vogue.

Elizabeth is a National Slam Champion, Beltway Grand Slam Champion, and the 2016 Women of the World Poetry Slam representative for Washington, D.C, where she lives and works.
Industry Reviews

I fell in love at slam poetry. This one will stay with you a long time.', Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give

'This was the type of book where "I'll just do 50 pages" turned into finishing it in 2 reads. I felt very emotional, not just because the story and the words themselves were so beautiful but because I knew it was going to make so many teens who felt like no one cares about them or listens to them feel seen.', Tomi Adeyemi, bestselling author of The Children of Blood and Bone

''Powerful, finely crafted verse . . . Readers will yearn to finish this verse novel in a single sitting, but its echoes will remain with them much longer'', Guardian

'A story that will slam the power of poetry and love back into your heart', Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak and Chains

'The force and intensity behind her words practically pushes them off the page, resulting in a verse novel that is felt as much as it is heard. This is a book from the heart, and for the heart.', New York Times Book Review

'First I read #ThePoetX. Now I'm listening to the audio read by @AcevedoWrites. Happy I don't have to choose between brilliances', Jacqueline Woodson, multiple award-winning author of If You Come Softly and Brown Girl Dreaming

'Acevedo breathes words instead of air', Lisa Heathfield, award-winning author of Paper Butterflies

The 2019 CILIP Carnegie Medal Shortlist

The Poet X - Elizabeth Acevedo

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.95

2018 National Book Award Winners

The Poet X - Elizabeth Acevedo

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.95