+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Perfect Girlfriend - Karen Hamilton

Paperback

Published: 27th February 2018
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $29.99
$23.75
21%
OFF

Juliette loves Nate.
She will follow him anywhere. She's even become a flight
attendant for his airline, so she can keep a closer eye on him.

They are meant to be.
The fact that Nate broke up with her six months ago means nothing.
Because Juliette has a plan to win him back.

She is the perfect girlfriend.
And she'll make sure no one stops her from
getting exactly what she wants.

True love hurts, but Juliette knows it's worth all the pain...

Review by Sarah McDuling

“If you love someone, set them free. If they come back, they’re yours. If they don’t … make them.”

How good is that line!? This book is so awesome – I can already see the trailer in my head for the movie adaptation. I was honestly stunned to realise this is the author’s first book. As soon as I finished I jumped online in search of more books by Karen Hamilton only to find this is her debut novel!

The concept here is not overly complex. Girl loves boy. Boy dumps girl. Girl schemes to win boy back. A whole lot of craziness ensues!

It may sound like a familiar story but the reason this book works so well is because it’s just so well written! The language is so rich and descriptive, the characters virtually jump off the page to slap you in the face. The whole book is like a giant roller-coaster ride into certain doom, and every second is wildly entertaining.

The protagonist, Juliette, could very easily fall into the crazy ex-girlfriend cliche and yet this never really happens. Despite being a certified looney-tunes psycho, Juliette is actually oddly likable. It’s hard to explain because obviously I didn’t want her to succeed in her evil plans but also… a part of me kind of wanted her to succeed in her evil plans. I just couldn’t help cheering her on. She’s bold and smart and sarcastic – not to mention extremely goal oriented. You have to respect a woman who knows what she wants! And while I feel the stereotype of the “crazy ex-girlfriend” should be avoided, in this case Juliette is so brilliantly written that I see her more as a great example of the archetypal “Woman Scorned”.

Perfect for fans of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, Before I Go to Sleep by S. J. Watson and Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica.

About the Author

Karen Hamilton spent her childhood in Angola, Zimbabwe, Belgium and Italy and worked as a flight attendant for many years. Karen is a recent graduate of the Faber Academy, and having now put down roots in Hampshire to raise her young family with her husband, she satisfies her wanderlust by exploring the world through her writing. The Perfect Girlfriend is her first novel.

WRITE A REVIEW

Great read

5

The perfect girlfriend was nothing like I expected it to be. It was better!! Through to the very last page I love a good twist at the end of a great book!

Melbourne

true

Perfect Girlfriend

5

I found this book exciting and it kept me turning the pages into the late hours of the night.

San Remo Austalia

true

The Perfect Girlfriend

5.0 2

100.0

So addictive it should come with a warning

First-time author Karen Hamilton does a superb job creating a scorned woman with a relentless axe to grind as she juggles paranoia, infatuation, hatred and revenge. - Northern Star, Daily Examiner, Gympie Times, Queensland Times

One of the best twisted narrators I've ever read. Perfect indeed!

I genuinely couldn't put it down - Juliette is such a compelling character. Totally gripping and thrillingly different. I loved it

Brilliant and terrifying

Hamilton makes sure readers are hooked. Make time to read this in one fascinating and frightening session of a woman possessed and obsessed. - Herald Sun

A frightening dive into the depths of obsession. The Perfect Girlfriend will have you turning pages and looking over your shoulder in equal measure,..Those who enjoyed The Girl On the Train will find Hamilton's girl on a plane both thrilling and terrifying in equal, manic measure. - Big Issue Australia

ISBN: 9781472244260
ISBN-10: 1472244265
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 368
Published: 27th February 2018
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 15.3 x 23.3  x 2.7
Weight (kg): 0.48
Edition Number: 1