+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Mountain : The Breathtaking Italian Bestseller - Luca D'Andrea

The Mountain

The Breathtaking Italian Bestseller

By: Luca D'Andrea, Howard Curtis (Translator)

Paperback

Published: 27th June 2017
RRP $29.99
$29.50
This title is not in stock at the Booktopia Warehouse and needs to be ordered from our supplier.
Click here to read more about delivery expectations.

Jeremiah Salinger blames himself.

The crash was his fault. He was the only survivor. Now only his daughter Clara can put a smile on his face. The depression and the nightmares are closing in. But when he takes Clara to the Bletterbach - a canyon in the Dolomites rich in fossil remains - he overhears by chance a conversation that gives his life renewed focus. In 1985 three students were murdered there, their bodies savaged, limbs severed and strewn by a killer who was never found.

Salinger, a New Yorker, is far from home, and these Italian mountains, where his wife was born, harbour a close-knit, tight-lipped community whose mistrust of outsiders can turn ugly. All the same, solving this mystery might be the only thing that can keep him sane. An atmospheric commercial thriller for readers of Stephen King and Joel Dicker.

About the Author

Luca D'Andrea was born in 1979 Bolzano, Italy, where he worked as a teacher for ten years. The Mountain, the most talked-about and fastest-selling book at London Book Fair 2016, was sold in more than 30 countries before it was first published in Italy.

D'Andrea's story sweeps away the reader in an avalanche of life-threatening revelations that make The Mountain a complete success as a debut thriller. * New York Journal of Books. * The novel contains some fantastic writing and a twist you will NOT see coming! I was genuinely amazed at how much this seemingly cold case, gripped me. * Anne Bonny Book Reviews * D'Andrea's superb debut thriller mines the darkness that hides beneath the surface of Siebenhoch, a beautiful, remote Italian village . . . A genuinely unexpected denouement hits like a freight train, perfectly bringing together all the pieces of a macabre, utterly riveting puzzle. * Publishers Weekly. * The Mountain is a rich, disturbing and multi-layered thriller, the kind you can very easily lose yourself in, just as I did. Just wrap up warm - this is a thriller that chills. * For Winter Nights * Scenic, pacy, rock hard, with seriously disturbing moments, this a clever, complex thrilling and thoroughly brilliant tale. * Sunday Sport. * A first-rate thriller. * ZDF Morgenmagazin. * An electrifying debut in the new wave of Italian thriller writing. D'Andrea's a name to add to your Eurocrime list. -- David Hewson, author of the Nic Costa novels and The Killing Sentences like lightning bolts, twists like avalanches: a spectacular thriller. * Playboy. * An unbelievably nail-biting thriller. * Alpin - Das BergMagazin. * A brilliant, enthralling debut. * Stern. * A perfectly constructed thriller . . . Draws the reader right in. * Bayerischer Rundfunk TV "Capriccio" * An entertaining read with a wide cast of possible suspects, not all of them human. The book's twists and turns continue right until the end. * Western Mail. * D'Andrea is a real master. -- Sergio Pent * La Stampa. * Can be compared (with no fear of hyperbole) to Stephen King and Jo Nesbo. -- Massimo Vincenz * La Repubblica. * Smart, stylish and extremely scary. * Sunday Mirror. * A canyon in the Italian Dolomites, beautiful yet sinister, provides a stunning setting for Luca D'Andrea's first thriller . . . D'Andrea piles on the action at the atmosphere with the panache of a seasoned writer. -- Marcel Berlins * The Times. *

ISBN: 9780857056917
ISBN-10: 0857056913
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 27th June 2017
Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 15.5 x 23.3  x 2.9
Weight (kg): 0.51
Edition Number: 1