+612 9045 4394
The Motet Books of Andrea Antico : Monuments of Renaissance Music - Martin Picker

The Motet Books of Andrea Antico

Monuments of Renaissance Music

By: Martin Picker (Editor)

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Share This Book:

This volume is the latest in a distinguished series of Renaissance editions, Monuments of Renaissance Music, which was founded by Edward E. Lowinsky and is now edited by Howard Mayer Brown. Four of the seven volumes published in the series to date have received the Otto Kinkeldey Award of the American Musicological Society.

Andrea Antico was one of the earliest and most important music publishers. Starting in Rome in 1510 and continuing in Venice, Antico produced elegant books of polyphonic music, cut with incredible skill on wood blocks. The repertory he published is central to understanding sixteenth-century music. It includes, for example, many pieces sung regularly in the Sistine Chapel. Since the best-represented composer in Antico's volumes if Jean Mouton, chapel master to the French king, these motet books provide insights into the character of music both at the Vatican and at the French court at the height of the Renaissance.

Martin Picker provides an exemplary edition of the four volumes of motets published by Antico in the early 1520s. His edition includes, in modern notation, all of the contents of these volumes not previously published in the Medici Codex (Monuments of Renaissance Music, Volumes III-V). Picker prefaces his edition with a history of Antico's publishing career and a discussion of each piece and its sources. The list of concordant sources and the discussions of important variants will be of enormous value to Renaissance scholars.

Andrea Antico as a Publisher of Music Appendix: The Editions of Andrea Antico
Antico's Motet Books of 1520 and 1521
Concordance and Commentary
The Concordant Sources and Bibliography
Commentaries on Individual Compositions
The Edition Editorial Note The Transcriptions
De profundisJosquinus 2.p.: A custodia matutina
Felix namque esJo. Mouton 2.p.: O Maria, Mater Dei
Congaudentes exultemusThomas Martini 2.p.: O beate Nicolae
Queramus cum pastoribusJo. Mouton 2.p.: Ubi pascas, ubi cubes
Ave ancilla TrinitatisA. de Silva 2.p.: Ave cujus conceptio
Ave stella matutinaMetre Joan 2.p.: Tu es area compluta
Dum complerenturJo. Lheritier 2.p.: Spiritus Domini replevit
Salve, Regina BarbaraMoulu 2.p.: Eya ergo, O Barbara
Salve, Regina misericordieBasiron 2.p.: Eya ergo, advocata nostra
Domine, Dominus nosterJ. Mouton 2.p.: Quid est homo
Laudate Dominum omnes gentes(Anon.)
Interveniat pro GabrieliJacotin
Recordare, Virgo MaterJosquin (?) 2.p.: Et ut advertas
Philomena, previaRichafort 2.p.: Veni dulcis amica
Salve, Mater SalvatorisJo. Mouton
Miseremini mei Josquin(Richafort?) 2.p.: Cutis mea aruit
Exaudiat te DominusRichafort 2.p.: Impleat Dominus
Sancta Maria, succurre miseris Liretier
Salvator mundi, salva nos(Lhéritier?) 2.p.: Eia ergo advocemus
Ave Domina meaJo. Lhiretier
Christus resurgensRichafort 2.p.: Mortuus est enim
Vide, Domine, afflictionem nostramDe la Fage
Congregate sunt gentesJo. Mouton 2.p.: Tu scis, Domine
O gemma clarissima, Katherina(Willaert)
Cognoscimus Domine(Richafort) 2.p.: Vita nostra in dolore
Pater noster(Richafort) 2.p.: Panem nostrum
Confirma hoc Deus(Bisgueria?) 2.p.: Gloria Patri, et Filio
Maria Virgo, prescripta / Angeli, Archangeli / Salve sancta Parens(C. Festa)
Salve, Regina misericordieJusquinus 2.p.: Eya ergo, advocata nostra 3.p.: Et Jesum
Ave fuit prima salus(Mouton) 2.p.: Dominus ab initio
Ave, mundi spes, MariaJo. de la Fage 2.p.: Ave, gemma, celi luminarium
Factum est silentiumJo. Mouton 2.p.: Dum sacrum misterium
In illo tempore Maria MagdaleneJo. Mouton 2.p.: Dic nobis, Maria
(O) Christe RedemptorJo. Mouton 2.p.: O excelsa Trinitas
Jocundare, JerusalemJo. Mouton 2.p.: Cum igitur natus
Sancte SebastianeJo. Mouton 2.p.: (O) beate Sebastiane
Partus et integritasJo. de la Fage
In illo tempore: PostquamSeb. Festa
Quam pulchra esConst. Festa
Nunc dimittis servum tuumConst. Festa
Rex autem DavidGascogne
Index of Composers
Index of Compositions
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780226667966
ISBN-10: 0226667960
Series: Monuments of Renaissance Music
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English , Latin
Number Of Pages: 456
Published: 1st January 1987
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 31.3 x 23.7  x 3.81
Weight (kg): 1.85