+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Most Fun We Ever Had - Claire Lombardo

The Most Fun We Ever Had

Hardcover Published: 27th June 2019
ISBN: 9781474611862
Number Of Pages: 544

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Hardcover

RRP $45.00
$34.40
24%
OFF
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 69 Qantas Points
on this Book

At a family wedding, the four Sorenson sisters polka-dot the green lawn in their summer pastels, with varying shades of hair and varying degrees of unease. Their long-infatuated parents watch on with a combination of love and concern.

Sixteen years later, the already messy lives of the sisters are thrown into turmoil by the unexpected reappearance of a teenage boy given up for adoption years earlier - and the rich and varied tapestry of the Sorensons' past is revealed.

Weaving between past and present, The Most Fun We Ever Had portrays the delights and difficulties of family life and the endlessly complex mixture of affection and abhorrence we feel for those closest to us. A dazzlingly accomplished debut and an utterly immersive portrait of one family's becoming, it marks the arrival of a major new literary voice.

Industry Reviews

If ever there were to be a literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler, then Claire Lombardo's outstanding debut, which ranges from ebullience to despair by way of caustic but intense familial bonds, would be a worthy offspring...This is a novel epic in scope-emotionally, psychologically and narratively. Combining a broad thematic canvas with impressive emotional nuance, it's an assured and highly enjoyable debut.

- GUARDIAN

A rich, engrossing family saga, spiked with sisterly malice...[rendered] with such skill and finely tuned interest that it feels like a quiet subversion of the traditional family saga. - The New York Times Book Review

The big family saga of the summer - EW

A sharp, sly family story of feminine guile and guilt...A fun and brimming tale...Divine - Kirkus

An expansive U.S. family saga, expertly rendered - Daily Mail

Lombardo has a wry, often spiky humour and tightly written style that should appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Emma Straub and Jennifer Egan ... A moving, immersive, often very funny study of family and sisterhood. - Sunday Times

A spry, sly and funny read - Sunday Express

A funny, complex, tragic and immersive family sage which spans forty years. This is the perfect, engrossing holiday read - Red

ISBN: 9781474611862
ISBN-10: 1474611869
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 544
Published: 27th June 2019
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 24.0 x 17.3  x 4.5
Weight (kg): 0.79
Edition Number: 1

Earn 69 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by