+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Memory Police - Yoko Ogawa

The Memory Police

Paperback Published: 8th August 2019
ISBN: 9781787300750
Number Of Pages: 352

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $32.99
$25.25
23%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 51 Qantas Points
on this Book

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • Hardcover View Product Published: 15th August 2019
    Ships in 7 to 10 business days
    $27.25

A compelling and surreal, Orwellian mystery by one of Japan's greatest writers.

Hat, ribbon, bird, rose. To the people on the island, a disappeared thing no longer has any meaning. It can be burned in the garden, thrown in the river or handed over to the Memory Police. Soon enough, the island forgets it ever existed.

When a young novelist discovers that her editor is in danger of being taken away by the Memory Police, she desperately wants to save him. For some reason, he doesn’t forget, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult for him to hide his memories. Who knows what will vanish next?

The Memory Police is a beautiful, haunting and provocative fable about the power of memory and the trauma of loss, from one of Japan’s greatest writers.

For readers of The Handmaid's Tale, Fahrenheit 451 and Nineteen Eighty-Four.

About the Author

Yoko Ogawa has won every major Japanese literary award. Her fiction has appeared in the New Yorker, A Public Space, and Zoetrope. Her works include The Diving Pool, a collection of three novellas, The Housekeeper and the Professor, Hotel Iris and Revenge.

Industry Reviews

"The Memory Police is a masterpiece: a deep pool that can be experienced as fable or allegory, warning and illumination. It is a novel that makes us see differently, opening up its ideas in inconspicuous ways, knowing that all moments of understanding and grace are fleeting. It is political and human, it makes no promises. It is a rare work of patient and courageous vision" * Guardian *
"It's an age since I read a book as strange, beautiful and affecting... this haunting work reaches beyond...to examine what it is to be human... a remarkable writer" * Sunday Times *
"In a feat of dark imagination, Yoko Ogawa stages an intimate, suspenseful drama of courage and endurance while conjuring up a world that is at once recognizable and profoundly strange" * Wall Street Journal *
"Explores questions of power, trauma and state surveillance...particularly resonant now, at a time of rising authoritarianism across the globe." * New York Times, pick of the month *
"The acclaimed Japanese writer's fifth English release is an elegantly spare dystopian fable...Reading The Memory Police is like sinking into a snowdrift: lulling yet suspenseful, it tingles with dread and incipient numbness." * New York Times Book Review *

ISBN: 9781787300750
ISBN-10: 1787300757
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 352
Published: 8th August 2019
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.5 x 13.6  x 2.2
Weight (kg): 0.31

Earn 51 Qantas Points
on this Book