Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Memory Keeper of Kyiv - Erin Litteken

The Memory Keeper of Kyiv

By: Erin Litteken

Hardcover | 16 May 2022

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Beekeeper of Aleppo.

"A powerfully moving debut . . . Ukraine's tragic history painfully echoes its current crisis, and on every page the Ukrainian spirit shines out, unbowed, unbent and unbroken. This is a compelling, timely read." Kate Quinn, author of The Rose Code


In the 1930s, Stalin's activists marched through the Soviet Union, espousing the greatness of collective farming. It was the first step in creating a man-made famine that, in Ukraine, stole almost 4 million lives. Inspired by the history the world forgot, and the Russian government denies, Erin Litteken reimagines their story.In 1929, Katya is 16 years old, surrounded by family and in love with the boy next door. When Stalin's activists arrive in her village, it's just a few, a little pressure to join the collective. But soon neighbors disappear, those who speak out are never seen again and every new day is uncertain.

Resistance has a price, and as desperate hunger grips the countryside, survival seems more a dream than a possibility. But, even in the darkest times, love beckons.

Seventy years later, a young widow discovers her grandmother's journal, one that will reveal the long-buried secrets of her family's haunted past.

This is a story of the resilience of the human spirit, the love that sees us through our darkest hours and the true horror of what happened during the Holodomor.

"I never imagined the release of my novel on a past oppression of the Ukrainian people would coincide with such a parallel tragedy." Erin Litteken


May we never forget, lest history repeat itself.


A share of proceeds will be donated to DEC's Ukraine Humanitarian Appeal.


"Emotionally riveting and honest . . . simultaneously shines an unflinching light on historical atrocities while it celebrates the resilience of the human spirit. You won't soon forget this stunning debut." Paulette Kennedy, author of Parting the Veil


"Breathtaking. Devastating. Erin Litteken's The Memory Keeper of Kyiv chronicles a defining but forgotten moment of Ukrainian history." Amanda McCrina, The Silent Unseen.

You Can Find This Book In

Other Editions and Formats

Digital Audiobook

Published: 16th May 2022

Instant Digital Delivery to your Booktopia Reader App

More in Historical Fiction

The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Imperial Harvest - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Tattooist of Auschwitz - Heather Morris

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Deception Bay : Book No.2 - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$23.95

20%
OFF
Atlas: The Story of Pa Salt : The Seven Sisters: Book 8 - Harry Whittaker
Pemulwuy : The Rainbow Warrior - Eric Willmot

RRP $34.99

$27.95

20%
OFF
The Bass Rock : Winner of the 2021 Stella Prize - Evie Wyld
The Brisbane Line - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$23.95

20%
OFF
The Sea Captain's Wife - Jackie French

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Hidden Storyteller : A Novel - Mandy Robotham

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Wild Date Palm - Diane Armstrong

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Mary I : Queen of Sorrows - Alison Weir

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Until August : The Lost Novel - Gabriel Garcia Márquez

RRP $35.00

$31.75

The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Bone Rites - Natalie Bayley

FREE SHIPPING

Paperback

RRP $21.99

$20.90

The Escapades of Tribulation Johnson - Karen Brooks

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Disappearance of Astrid Bricard - Natasha Lester

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Vanishing Point - Andrea Hotere

RRP $34.99

$31.75

This product is categorised by