+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Mayfly : As Chilling as M. J. Arlidge - James Hazel

The Mayfly

As Chilling as M. J. Arlidge

Paperback Published: 28th June 2017
ISBN: 9781785763007
Number Of Pages: 400

Share This Book:

Paperback

Limited Stock Available
RRP $29.99
$19.00
37%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

A high-octane thriller from an exhilarating new voice, perfect for fans of Thomas Harris and MJ Arlidge.

It's happening again.
A mutilated body discovered in the woods.
A murderous plan conceived in the past.
A reckoning seventy years in the making...

Charlie Priest, ex-detective inspector turned London lawyer, is hired by influential entrepreneur Kenneth Ellinder to investigate the murder of his son. But Priest is no ordinary lawyer. Brilliant yet flawed, this case will push him, and those closest to him, to the edge.

Priest traces the evidence back to the desperate last days of the Second World War. Buried in the ashes of the Holocaust is a secret so deadly its poison threatens to destroy the very heart of the establishment. With more victims going missing, Priest realises that not everyone should be trusted. As he races to uncover the truth, can he prevent history from repeating itself?

About the Author

Before turning his hand to writing, James Hazel was a lawyer in private practice specialising in corporate and commercial litigation and employment law. He was an equity partner in a regional law firm and held a number of different department headships until he quit legal practice to pursue his dream of becoming an author. He has a keen interest in criminology and a passion for crime thrillers, indie music and all things retro. James lives on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds with his wife and three children.

An impressive debut . . . Hazel has a gift for a gripping plot, an abundantly more-ish, aphoristic prose style, and a quirky humour underlying the most viole-nt and excessive set pieces, of which there are many in this clever debut. He's suitably handy with neat character description, and also with one disturbing revelation following another in quick succession, without seeming to be completely implausible. The Mayfly is what Fleming would have called an "unashamed thriller", with Hazel adept at giving the reader those heightened feelings of suspense, excitement and anxiety. It is a nice hybrid of mystery and horror: monsters, terror and peril inhabit Priest's world * The Australian *
Occasionally horrifically shiver inducing, never less than irresistible, The Mayfly is really top notch. Intelligently constructed, characters to die for and a truly sterling opening to what I hope will be a long running series. Charlie Priest. Remember the name * Liz Loves Books *
A compelling mystery that has you tearing through the pages. Charlie Priest is a genius creation. He's brilliant and border-line dysfunctional but you can't help liking him. Highly recommended * James Carol, author of the Jefferson Winter series *
Addictive. There is something wonderfully macabre about Hazel's debut thriller. It may well be the motley crew that surrounds Priest, (who isn't exactly without his own difficulties), who entranced me . . . With this marvellous cast, Hazel's thriller certainly keeps rolling along at a cracking pace . . . I can honestly say that I haven't completed a book in such double quick time as I did The Mayfly. Having been reviewing for over twelve years now, I can sense a good thriller. You will be guaranteed to be on to a winner with The Mayfly * CrimeSquad *
A compulsive and engaging read. I liked the characters, and the plot was interesting . . . A little gory, and with plenty to keep the reader guessing! * Bibliophile Book Club *
This is a heart thumping page turner with a difference. It has depth. The characters are brilliantly portrayed and the narrative is beautifully paced and written with intelligence and heart. * Bookish Outsider *
This book is frankly stunning. Hazel's writing style is fantastic, keeping the reader engaged throughout with his fast-paced and gritty narrative. * The Book Club Cafe *
The Mayfly is a cleverly written and compelling story that has been brilliantly plotted. * If In Doubt, Read *

ISBN: 9781785763007
ISBN-10: 1785763008
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 28th June 2017
Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 2.9
Weight (kg): 0.54