+612 9045 4394
The Marquise of O : and Other Stories - Heinrich Von Kleist

The Marquise of O

and Other Stories

By: Heinrich Von Kleist, D. Luke (Transcribed by), N. Reeves (Transcribed by)

Paperback Published: 11th January 1999
ISBN: 9780140443592
Number Of Pages: 336
For Ages: 18+ years old

Other Formats

Share This Book:


Ships in 7 to 10 business days

The late stories by an influential writer of singular talent

Between 1799, when he left the Prussian Army, and his suicide in 1811, Kleist developed into a writer of unprecedented and tragically isolated genius. This collection of works from the last period of his life also includes 'The Earthquake in Chile,' 'Michael Kohlhaas,' 'The Beggarwoman of Locarno,' 'St. Cecilia or The Power of Music,' 'The Betrothal in Santo Domingo,' 'The Foundling,' and 'The Duel.'

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

Forewordp. vii
Introductionp. xi
The Marquise of O-p. 1
The Earthquake in Chilep. 51
The Foundlingp. 71
Biographical notep. 91
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780140443592
ISBN-10: 0140443592
Series: Penguin Classics
Audience: General
For Ages: 18+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 336
Published: 11th January 1999
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 1.9
Weight (kg): 0.25
Edition Number: 1