+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Lost Man - Jane Harper

Paperback Published: 23rd October 2018
ISBN: 9781743549100
Number Of Pages: 384

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $32.99
$23.95
27%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Other Available Editions (Hide)

Three brothers, one death, a fenceline stretching to the horizon.

Two brothers meet at the border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of outback Queensland.

They are at the stockman's grave, a landmark so old, no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother, Cameron.

The Bright family's quiet existence is thrown into grief and anguish.

Something had been troubling Cam. Did he lose hope and walk to his death? Because if he didn't, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects...

For readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper has once again created a powerful story of suspense, set against a dazzling landscape.

Staff Review by Sarah McDuling

Like many people, I was utterly blown away by Jane Harper’s astonishing first novel, The Dry. And then, still riding the enormous success of her debut, she smashed it out of the park again with her second novel, Force of Nature

Publishing two bestselling and award-winning novels in two years is quite an impressive feat. Now, with the impending release of her third novel, The Lost Man, I think the question everyone is asking is … can Jane Harper do it again?

You guys. She has totally done it again!

The Lost Man rocketed past all my high expectations and set a whole new standard that will be very difficult to beat. When I first heard that this book would not feature Aaron Falk as a main character – I’ll admit I had some misgivings. I love Aaron Falk. Everyone loves Aaron Falk. I should have known better than to doubt the genius of Jane Harper. Despite how much I loved her previous two novels, I am stunned to admit I think The Lost Man may well be the best thing she has ever written!

This incredibly gripping and intense novel begins with one of the most cinematic opening chapters I have read in ages … probably since the opening of The Dry. Set in outback Queensland, once again Jane Harper brings the Australian landscape vividly to life. Every page of The Lost Man is drenched in atmosphere. The harsh, unforgiving terrain is depicted almost like a character in it’s own right, with a vital role to play.

Harper draws readers into a strange alien landscape, a wasteland scorched beneath an unrelenting sun – an eerie, godforsaken place where “rivers flooded without rain and seashells fossilised a thousand miles from water and men who left their cars found themselves walking to their deaths.”

If you enjoyed Jane Harper’s previous books and felt any concern when you heard that her new book wouldn’t feature Aaron Falk … fear not! For one thing, I predict many readers will come to the end of The Lost Man feeling as I did – that this is Jane Harper’s best novel yet! For another, if you are an observant reader you may spot a subtle shout out to The Dry hidden within the pages of The Lost Man – a little easter egg for the fans to find, if they are paying close attention.

Touching on a lot of dark themes, including domestic violence and rape, The Lost Man is a story about family and secrets. It’s a story about pain and violence and how it can echo through generations – about how untold suffering will eventually find a way to be heard. It’s also a complex and utterly enthralling mystery that asks a burning question…

What happened to Cameron Bright?

WRITE A REVIEW

What a read.

5

jane Harper's first two novels were a great read but this is the best yet. So many twists and turns. She shows how a simple act can have long-lasting effects.

Newcastle

true

The Lost Man

5.0 1

100.0

ISBN: 9781743549100
ISBN-10: 1743549105
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 23rd October 2018
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 23.3 x 15.3  x 2.8
Weight (kg): 0.47

Jane Harper


About the Author


Jane Harper was born in Manchester in the UK, and moved to Australia with her family at age eight.

She spent six years in Boronia, Victoria, and during that time gained Australian citizenship.

Returning to the UK with her family as a teenager, she lived in Hampshire before studying English and History at the University of Kent in Canterbury.

On graduating, she completed a journalism entry qualification and got her first reporting job as a trainee on the Darlington & Stockton Times in County Durham.

Jane worked for several years as a senior news journalist for the Hull Daily Mail, before moving back to Australia in 2008.

She worked first on the Geelong Advertiser, and in 2011 took up a role with the Herald Sun in Melbourne.

In 2014, Jane submitted a short story which was one of 12 chosen for the Big Issue's annual Fiction Edition.

That inspired her to pursue creative writing more seriously, and that year she applied for the Curtis Brown Creative online 12-week novel writing course.

She was accepted with a submission for the book that would become The Dry.

Jane lives in St Kilda with her husband and daughter.

Visit Jane Harper's Booktopia Author Page


Read More