+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Long Shadow - Loretta Proctor

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, and found some results for you that may be helpful.

Share This Book:

The city lay in a beautiful bay. As the sun rose we began to see the sprawl of little Turkish houses clambering the steep slopes, painted in rosy pink, mauve, white, yellow, blue. The white domes of the Greek churches glistened in the fresh morning sunshine. The Long Shadow is compelling historical novel which tells the human story of the Eastern campaign in Salonika and will appeal to readers of The Island and The Thread. Fourteen-year-old Andrew discovers his mother's hidden diary at his grandmother's house during a Christmas holiday. His eyes are opened to a family secret when he reads about her time as a nurse on Salonika during the First World War, and the tragic love affair she had with his father, a Greek officer, who died in battle. Four years later Andrew is compelled to visit his father's country and trace his roots. What - and whom - he meets there will change his life forever. The Long Shadow is filled with descriptions of Greece and its people, dramatic images of battles and the terrible conditions endured by the allied armies fighting around Salonika. The Long Shadow illuminates a period of history not often featured in fiction and is highly topical as we approach the centenary of WW1 in 2014.

Industry Reviews

`Immensely impressed by this novel, especially the Greek scenes. It's a marvellously accomplished book.' -- Colin Wilson

ISBN: 9781783060542
ISBN-10: 1783060549
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 480
Published: 1st August 2013
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.6 x 13.8  x 2.46
Weight (kg): 0.55

This product is categorised by