+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Little Paris Bookshop - Nina George

The Little Paris Bookshop

By: Nina George, Simon Pare (Translator)

Paperback

Published: 12th January 2016
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $19.99
$16.75
16%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 23rd April 2015
Format: ePUB
$16.99

The international bestseller The Little Paris Bookshop is a delightful, bittersweet tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love and friendship.

The international bestseller, translated from the German by Simon Pare.

On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop; or rather a 'literary apothecary', for this bookseller possesses a rare gift for sensing which books will soothe the troubled souls of his customers.

The only person he is unable to cure, it seems, is himself. He has nursed a broken heart ever since the night, twenty-one years ago, when the love of his life fled Paris, leaving behind a handwritten letter that he has never dared read. His memories and his love have been gathering dust - until now. The arrival of an enigmatic new neighbour in his eccentric apartment building on Rue Montagnard inspires Jean to unlock his heart, unmoor the floating bookshop and set off for Provence, in search of the past and his beloved.

About the Author

Born in 1973, Nina George is a journalist and the author of numerous bestselling novels, which have been translated into several languages. The Little Paris Bookshop was a phenomenal top five bestseller in Germany and is set to be published around the world. She is married to the writer Jens J. Kramer and lives in Hamburg.

WRITE A REVIEW

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
The Little Paris Bookshop
 
4.3

(based on 3 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

67%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Reviewed by 3 customers

Displaying reviews 1-3

Back to top

 
5.0

Have read this twice & will again

By 

from Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

About Me Bookworm

Verified Reviewer

Pros

  • Deserves Multiple Readings
  • Engaging Characters
  • It really resonated with me. Full of emotions.
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Older Readers
    • Travel Reading

    Comments about The Little Paris Bookshop:

    I really enjoyed this book. Didn't know what to expect, but found it really engaging. Love the characters, with all their flaws. I really love the idea of a Literary Apocathary on a barge.

     
    3.0

    Perfectly agreeable but not gripping

    By 

    from Canberra

    About Me Everyday Reader

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Something to while away an unoccupied afternoon.

    Cons

    • Lost in translation perhaps

    Best Uses

      Comments about The Little Paris Bookshop:

      This comes with lots of recommendations, and it sounds quite charming. And it is, though perhaps not quite enough to be memorable.

       
      5.0

      Brilliant!

      By 

      from Sydney, Australia

      About Me Rarely Read

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Page Turner
      • Well Written

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Gift
        • Travel Reading

        Comments about The Little Paris Bookshop:

        This book was a brilliant read, had me seeking out ways that I would be on trains, or in situations without technology so I would "have" to read. Gifted this one to my sister and best friends for Christmas it was that good!

        Displaying reviews 1-3

        Back to top

        A charming story about life, love, despair and, above all, hope * Who Weekly * a delightful, bittersweet tale * Lakes Post * [a] wonderfully eclectic and quirky cast of characters, all of whom are so well defined and written * The Armchair Library blog * Enchanting and moving ... Rarely have I read such a beautiful book! * Tina magazine * Nina George tells us clever things about love, about literature that 'puts a bounce in your step', about tango in Provence. One of those books that gets you thinking about whom you must give it to as a gift even while you're still reading it, because it makes you happy, and should be part of any well-stocked apothecary * Hamburg Morning Post * Nina George spins a gentle, charming tale . . . it would take a cold heart not to be warmed * Herald * Enchanting and uplifting, this unashamedly sweet tale is a real gem * Heat * A novel about love and books - what better? * Woman and Home * A gentle, heartwarming tale of discovery * Candis * The Little Paris Bookshop is a wonderful tale showing the power of friendship and love * France magazine * A true gem for fiction lovers * Good Housekeeping * A real gem of a book that is my book of the year so far . . . superbly written and flows effortlessly. You read and re-read phrase after evocative phrase. I couldn't put it down. The characters lingered long after I had finished it and the sense of time and place made me want to book a flight to Paris immediately . . . You will LOVE it * Patricia Scanlan * An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read - so the perfect accompaniment to relaxing in the sun * Independent * If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel...Everything happens just as you want it to... from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure * oprah.com * A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment * Carole Matthews, bestselling author of The Cake Shop in the Garden * A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance * Saga * Glowing . . . a classic voyage and return narrative, layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has "seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned * Daily Mail * As . . . the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance * Mail on Sunday * This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop - or as he calls it, 'a literary apothecary', because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure - of heartache - is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie * Red *

        ISBN: 9780349140377
        ISBN-10: 0349140375
        Audience: General
        Format: Paperback
        Language: English
        Number Of Pages: 368
        Published: 12th January 2016
        Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
        Country of Publication: GB
        Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.8  x 2.4
        Weight (kg): 0.3
        Edition Number: 1