+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Little Paris Bookshop - Nina George

The Little Paris Bookshop

Paperback

Published: 12th January 2016
In Stock. Ships today or next business day from Australia
RRP $19.99
$16.75
16%
OFF
if ordered within

eBook View Product

Published: 23rd April 2015
Format: ePUB
$16.99

The international bestseller The Little Paris Bookshop is a delightful, bittersweet tale about the distance one man will travel for the sake of love and friendship.

The international bestseller, translated from the German by Simon Pare.

On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop; or rather a 'literary apothecary', for this bookseller possesses a rare gift for sensing which books will soothe the troubled souls of his customers.

The only person he is unable to cure, it seems, is himself. He has nursed a broken heart ever since the night, twenty-one years ago, when the love of his life fled Paris, leaving behind a handwritten letter that he has never dared read. His memories and his love have been gathering dust - until now. The arrival of an enigmatic new neighbour in his eccentric apartment building on Rue Montagnard inspires Jean to unlock his heart, unmoor the floating bookshop and set off for Provence, in search of the past and his beloved.

About the Author

Born in 1973, Nina George is a journalist and the author of numerous bestselling novels, which have been translated into several languages. The Little Paris Bookshop was a phenomenal top five bestseller in Germany and is set to be published around the world. She is married to the writer Jens J. Kramer and lives in Hamburg.

WRITE A REVIEW

Have read this twice & will again

5

I really enjoyed this book. Didn't know what to expect, but found it really engaging. Love the characters, with all their flaws. I really love the idea of a Literary Apocathary on a barge.

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

true

Perfectly agreeable but not gripping

3

This comes with lots of recommendations, and it sounds quite charming. And it is, though perhaps not quite enough to be memorable.

Canberra

false

Brilliant!

5

This book was a brilliant read, had me seeking out ways that I would be on trains, or in situations without technology so I would "have" to read. Gifted this one to my sister and best friends for Christmas it was that good!

Sydney, Australia

true

The Little Paris Bookshop

4.3 3

66.7

This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop - or as he calls it, 'a literary apothecary', because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure - of heartache - is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie - Red

As . . . the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance - Mail on Sunday

Glowing . . . a classic voyage and return narrative, layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has "seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned - Daily Mail

A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance - Saga

ISBN: 9780349140377
ISBN-10: 0349140375
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 368
Published: 12th January 2016
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.8  x 2.4
Weight (kg): 0.3
Edition Number: 1