Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Land of Roar : The Land of Roar: Book 1 - Jenny McLachlan

The Land of Roar

The Land of Roar: Book 1

By: Jenny McLachlan

Paperback | 1 January 2019 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


$19.75

Aims to ship in 30 to 35 business days

The new middle-grade fantasy that will make you believe in magic!

When Arthur and Rose were little, they were heroes in the Land of Roar, an imaginary world that they found by climbing through the folding bed in their grandad's attic. Roar was filled with things they loved - dragons, mermaids, ninja wizards and adventure - as well as things that scared them (including a very creepy scarecrow. . .)

Now the twins are eleven, Roar is just a memory. But when they help Grandad clean out the attic, Arthur is horrified as Grandad is pulled into the folding bed and vanishes. Is he playing a joke? Or is Roar . . . real?

The Land of Roar is reminiscent of Peter Pan, The Neverending Story and Jumanji - perfect for readers of Nevermoor and Wizards of Once.

About the Author

Jenny McLachlan is the author of several acclaimed teen novels including Flirty Dancing, Stargazing for Beginners and Truly, Wildly, Deeply. Before Jenny became a writer, she was Head of English in a secondary school; she now loves visiting schools as an author and delivering funny and inspiring talks and workshops. When Jenny isn't thinking about stories or writing stories, she enjoys living by the seaside, cycling and running over the South Downs. The Land of Roar is Jenny's middle-grade debut.
Industry Reviews

'A vividly imagined adventure, [...] full of heart, humour and a terrifying villain' Fiona Noble, The Bookseller', Fiona Noble, Bookseller

''This is proof, not that it's needed, that Jenny McLachlan is a writer of enormous heart and versatility. I'm a really big fan' ', Phil Earle

''Roar is an exhilarating, hilarious, vividly drawn tribute to the power of the childhood imagination, the love of family and the magic we risk losing as we grow up. If you plan to visit one new place in 2019, make it Roar' ', Sarah Driver, author of the Huntress trilogy

''This funny, captivating story is filled with the painful pangs of growing up and the transporting qualities of imagination'', Imogen Russell-Williams, Guardian

Kids Month 2019 Junior Fiction

Into the Wild : Wolf Girl: Book 1 - Anh Do

RRP $16.99

$15.80

The World's Worst Teachers : World's Worst - David Walliams

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Return of the Temujai - Brotherband Series : Book 8 - John Flanagan
The Great Escape : Wolf Girl: Book 2 - Anh Do

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Ninja Switch! : Ninja Kid: Book 3 - Anh Do

RRP $15.99

$15.25

Golden Unicorn : Rise of the Mythix: Book 1 - Anh Do
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire : Illustrated Edition - J.K Rowling
Detention - Tristan Bancks

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$16.75

The 117-Storey Treehouse : Treehouse Series : Book 9 - Andy Griffiths
Weirdomania! : WeirDo: Book 13 - Anh Do

RRP $15.99

$14.95

Dog Man : For Whom the Ball Rolls : Dog Man: Book 7 - Dav Pilkey
Nevermoor : The Trials of Morrigan Crow - Jessica Townsend

RRP $18.99

$17.35

Sick Bay - Nova Weetman

Paperback

RRP $16.95

$15.80

A Tale of Magic : A Tale of Magic - Chris Colfer

RRP $26.99

$11.50

57%
OFF
Vincent and The Grandest Hotel on Earth - Lisa Nicol

RRP $16.99

$7.75

54%
OFF
Real Pigeons Splash Back : Real Pigeons: Book 4 - Andrew McDonald
Mr Walker and the Perfect Mess : Mr. Walker - Jess Black
Fully Booked : Toffle Towers : Book 1 - Tim Harris

RRP $14.99

$14.25

The Bad Guys: Episode 9 : The Big Bad Wolf - Aaron Blabey
Movie Time! : Hotdog!: Book 6 - Anh Do

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Squidge Dibley Destroys The School : Squidge Dibley - Mick Elliott

Kids Month 2019 - Top 50 Picks

The Tattooist of Auschwitz - YA Edition - Heather Morris

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Into the Wild : Wolf Girl: Book 1 - Anh Do

RRP $16.99

$15.80

The World's Worst Teachers : World's Worst - David Walliams

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Wonky Donkey : Wonky Donkey - Craig Smith

Book with Other Items

RRP $18.99

$17.35

Golden Unicorn : Rise of the Mythix: Book 1 - Anh Do
Aurora Rising : The Aurora Cycle: Book 1 - Amie Kaufman

RRP $24.99

$12.95

48%
OFF
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire : Illustrated Edition - J.K Rowling
Detention - Tristan Bancks

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$16.75

The Tiger Who Came to Tea : 50th Anniversary Edition - Judith Kerr
The Pigeon HAS to Go to School! - Mo Willems

RRP $16.99

$15.80

All the Ways to be Smart - Davina Bell

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The 117-Storey Treehouse : Treehouse Series : Book 9 - Andy Griffiths
Claris: Fashion Show Fiasco : Claris: The Chicest Mouse in Paris - Megan Hess
Weirdomania! : WeirDo: Book 13 - Anh Do

RRP $15.99

$14.95

Definitely Do Not Open This Book : Do Not Open This Book - Andy Lee
Dog Man : For Whom the Ball Rolls : Dog Man: Book 7 - Dav Pilkey
Nevermoor : The Trials of Morrigan Crow - Jessica Townsend

RRP $18.99

$17.35

Sick Bay - Nova Weetman

Paperback

RRP $16.95

$15.80

Welcome to Your Period : Welcome To You - Melissa Kang

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Pig The Tourist : Pig the Pug - Aaron Blabey

RRP $18.99

$17.35

Macca's Makeover : Macca - Matt Cosgrove

RRP $18.99

$17.35

The Land of Roar Series

Return to Roar : The Land of Roar: Book 2 - Jenny McLachlan
The Battle for Roar : The Land of Roar: Book 3 - Jenny McLachlan