+612 9045 4394
The Kings and Queens of England - Ian Crofton

The Kings and Queens of England


Published: 23rd June 2011
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days

From the reign of Alfred the Great - the first king of Wessex to call himself 'king of England' - in the 9th century, to the shock of Norman invasion in the 11th, and from the brutal vicissitudes of late medieval kingship to the comfortable ceremonial of modern-day constitutional monarchy, the story of England's kings and queens is to a large degree that of England herself. Kings and Queens of England offers readable profiles of 59 English monarchs from Harold II to Henry VIII, and from Ethelred the Unready to Elizabeth II.

Each monarch is elegantly profiled and the impact of their rule on wider English history clearly and concisely described and analysed. For every king and queen there is a detailed timeline, and the narrative is further amplified by display quotations, feature boxes, panels of key biographical facts, and - last but not least - by 135 lavish full-colour images. Ian Crofton recounts a 1000-year tale of murder, invasion, usurpation, adultery, divorce, civil war and revolution in a manner that is as entertaining as it is informative.

The Kings and Queens of England is the perfect choice for anyone looking for an illustrated account of the English monarchy from the Anglo-Saxon era to the present.

About the Author

A former editor-in-chief of The Guinness Encyclopedia, Ian Crofton's authorial credits include Brewer's Britain and Ireland and the forthcoming 2nd edition of Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable. He lives in North London with his family.


Just what it says


Continually referred to.

Sydney, Australia


The Kings and Queens of England

5.0 1


THE ANGLO-SAXONS AND NORSE KINGS: Alfred the Great; Edward the Elder; Athelstan; Edmund I; Edred; Eadwig; Edgar; Edward the Martyr; Aethelred the Unready; Sweyn Forkbeard; Edmund II Ironside; Cnut; Harold Harefoot and Harthacnut; Edward the Confessor; Harold II Godwineson. THE NORMANS: William I the Conqueror; William II Rufus; Henry I; Stephen; Matilda; Henry II; Richard I Lionheart; John. THE PLANTAGENETS: Henry III; Edward I; Edward II; Edward III; Richard II; Henry IV; Henry V; Henry VI; Edward IV; Edward V; Richard III. THE TUDORS: Henry VII; Henry VIII; Edward VI; Jane; Mary I; Elizabeth I. THE STUARTS: James I; Charles I; Interregnum; Charles II; James II; William III and Mary II; Anne. THE HOUSE OF HANOVER: George I; George II; George III; George IV; William IV; Victoria. THE HOUSE OF SAXE-COBURG-GOTHA: Edward VII. THE HOUSE OF WINDSOR: George V; Edward VIII; George VI; Elizabeth II. Appendix: Dynastic Family Trees. Index.

ISBN: 9780857385314
ISBN-10: 0857385313
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 256
Published: 23rd June 2011
Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 24.8 x 19.2  x 2.7
Weight (kg): 1.046
Edition Number: 1