+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Immortalists : If you knew the date of your death, how would you live? - Chloe Benjamin

The Immortalists

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live?

Paperback Published: 10th July 2018
ISBN: 9781472245007
Number Of Pages: 416

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $22.99
$18.35
20%
OFF
In Stock
if ordered within
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 37 Qantas Points
on this Book

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • ePUB View Product Published: 9th January 2018
    InstantDownload
    $12.99
  • Hardcover View Product Published: 8th March 2018
    Ships in 7 to 10 business days
    $34.75

'It's amazing how good this book is' says Karen Joy Fowler. Discover Chloe Benjamin's The Immortalists, a sweeping family drama for fans of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves and Fates and Furies.

'For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. A memorable and heartfelt look at what might happen to a family who knows too much. It's amazing how good this book is' - Karen Joy Fowler.

It's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. Four siblings, too young for what they are about to hear, sneak out to hear their fortunes.

We then follow the intertwined paths the siblings take over the course of five decades and, in particular, how they choose to live with the supposed knowledge the fortune-teller gave them that day. This is a story about life, mortality and the choices we make: is it better to live a long and cautious life, or to burn brightly, but for the shortest time?

About the Author

Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.

Industry Reviews

A boundlessly moving inquisition into mortality, grief and passion...The Immortalists is not just a novel about grief; it conjures characters with such dimension that you mourn them too, a magic rare enough to leave one astonished - Observer

Immersive and impressive - The Sunday Times

For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. A memorable and heartfelt look at what might happen to a family who knows too much. It's amazing how good this book is.

A captivating family saga - New York Times Book Review

A compelling and utterly absorbing read with virtuoso storytelling on display. The drive to discover how each character's story unfolds gives the novel a sense of urgency yet Chloe Benjamin's prose - lyrical, tender, perceptive - compels you to linger on every exquisitely crafted sentence. It is a hugely powerful novel and asks fundamental questions about fate, mortality and life and the ways we choose to live it - Sunday Express

Benjamin crams her novel with incident, while never stinting on detail. Such is her dazzling sureness of touch that you wonder if here is a writer who is truly capable of anything. - Daily Mail

Mesmerising, like a well-crafted illusion...Benjamin is a gifted writer, a creator of quiet asides and haunting images, who mines a seam of sad wisdom - Finan

A great read!

5

An extremely well written and engaging book. We read it for my bookgroup and I can't wait to talk about it!

Melbourne

true

The Immortalists

5.0 1

100.0

ISBN: 9781472245007
ISBN-10: 1472245008
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 416
Published: 10th July 2018
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 13.0  x 3.0
Weight (kg): 0.32
Edition Number: 1

Earn 37 Qantas Points
on this Book