Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The House of Now and Then : SHORTLISTED FOR THE NED KELLY AWARD FOR BEST DEBUT CRIME FICTION 2023 - Jo Dixon

The House of Now and Then

SHORTLISTED FOR THE NED KELLY AWARD FOR BEST DEBUT CRIME FICTION 2023

By: Jo Dixon

Paperback | 29 November 2023

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

You should leave the past in the past ... or should you? A vividly told, jaw-droppingly twisty and wholly engaging story about the consequences of discovering the truth. For readers of Sally Hepworth, Nicola Moriarty and Adele Parks.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE NED KELLY AWARD FOR BEST DEBUT CRIME FICTION 2023


After a humiliating public scandal, Olivia is hiding from the press in a remote Tasmanian house when an unknown man knocks on her door, seeking Pippa, a woman who once lived there. His father, Jeremy, has died, leaving behind a letter for this mysterious woman. Olivia wants to help, but can she risk revealing her own sordid past?

Thirty years earlier, bohemian wild-child Pippa and her best friend Jeremy spend a perfect summer in the house. Pippa falls deeply in love with local boy Leo, and they begin to plan a life of adventure together, much to the displeasure of his conservative and controlling family. One night Leo leaves the house to confront his parents ... and is never seen again.

As Olivia is drawn into solving the mystery, the unexpected and tragic story of Pippa, Jeremy and Leo is slowly uncovered. At the same time, a path to reclaiming her own life opens, if only she has the courage to take it.

About the Author

Jo lives in rural Tasmania, where she wrangles an ever-growing collection of animals and is kept busy transforming blackberry-infested paddocks into beautiful gardens. She has been a dental assistant, an event coordinator, and a sales rep in the travel industry. Now she writes full-time, creating twisty, suspenseful stories that feature flawed characters who've made mistakes, but who turn out to be stronger than they think.

Jo's debut novel The House of Now and Then was released in 2023. A Shadow at the Door is her second book.
Industry Reviews
'Debut novelist Jo Dixon delivers on every front with this impossible to second-guess thriller...' - Australian Women's Weekly

'This intriguing, decades-long mystery combines endearing but flawed characters, deadly secrets, and a deliciously twisty plot' - Sarah Barrie, author of Unforgiven

'A page-turning debut with a genuinely satisfying ending.' - Kelli Hawkins, author of Other People's Houses

'A compelling mystery filled with vivid characters, a gorgeous setting, and twists in its tail. A great read which explores public versus private lives and where running away can't erase the truth.' - R.W.R McDonald, author of The Nancys

'The House of Now and Then is a compelling mix of mystery, love and intrigue. I devoured it in one sitting. A brilliant debut from a writer to watch.' - Mary-Lou Stephens, author of The Last of the Apple Blossom

'An absorbing, character-driven mystery with a finely drawn sense of place that builds to a twist-filled and wholly satisfying conclusion.' - Dinuka Mckenzie, author of The Torrent

More in Crime & Mystery Fiction

Pheasants Nest - Louise Milligan

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Midnight Feast - Lucy Foley

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Year of the Locust - Terry Hayes

RRP $22.99

$21.90

The Kellerby Code : 'Magnificent' Richard Osman - Jonny Sweet
What Happened to Nina? : The No. 1 Bestseller - Dervla McTiernan
The Marlow Murder Club - Robert Thorogood

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Hairpin Bridge - Taylor Adams

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $31.99

$21.95

31%
OFF
Deception Bay : Book No.2 - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$23.95

20%
OFF
The Man Who Died Twice : Thursday Murder Club: Book 2 - Richard Osman
The Last Devil To Die : The Thursday Murder Club 4 - Richard Osman
Foul Play : The New Jack Hawksworth Thriller - Fiona McIntosh
Gone - Glenna Thomson

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Lone Wolf - Gregg Hurwitz

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Dark Arena : A Frenchman Thriller - Jack Beaumont

RRP $32.99

$30.25