Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The House of Hidden Meanings : The surprising, revealing and poignant memoir from a pop culture icon and bestselling author for readers who loved THE WOMAN IN ME, LOVE PAMELA and PAGEBOY - RuPaul

The House of Hidden Meanings

The surprising, revealing and poignant memoir from a pop culture icon and bestselling author for readers who loved THE WOMAN IN ME, LOVE PAMELA and PAGEBOY

By: RuPaul

Paperback | 6 March 2024

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
From international drag superstar and pop culture icon RuPaul, comes his most revealing and personal work to date-a brutally honest, surprisingly poignant, and deeply intimate memoir of growing up Black, poor, and queer in a broken home to discovering the power of performance, found family, and self-acceptance. A profound introspection of his life, relationships, and identity, The House of Hidden Meanings is a self-portrait of the legendary icon on the road to global fame and changing the way the world thinks about drag.

Central to RuPaul's success has been his chameleonic adaptability. From drag icon to powerhouse producer of one of the world's largest television franchises, RuPaul's ever-shifting nature has always been part of his brand as both supermodel and supermogul.

Yet that adaptability has made him enigmatic to the public. In this memoir, his most intimate and detailed book yet, RuPaul makes himself truly known.

Stripping away all artifice, RuPaul recounts the story of his life with breathtaking clarity and tenderness, bringing his signature wisdom and wit to his own biography. From his early years growing up as a queer Black kid in San Diego navigating complex relationships with his absent father and temperamental mother, to forging an identity in the punk and drag scenes of Atlanta and New York, to finding enduring love with his husband Georges LeBar and self-acceptance in sobriety, RuPaul excavates his own biography, uncovering new truths and insights in his personal history.

Here in RuPaul's singular and extraordinary story is a manual for living-a personal philosophy that testifies to the value of chosen family, the importance of harnessing what makes you different, and the transformational power of facing yourself fearlessly.

If we're all born naked and the rest is drag, then this is RuPaul totally out of drag. This is RuPaul stripped bare.

About the Author

RuPaul Charles is a Tony Award® -winner and the 12-time Primetime Emmy Award® -winning executive producer of one of the world’s largest television franchises, RuPaul’s Drag Race. He holds the Guinness World Records title for most Emmy wins for Outstanding Host of Reality/Competition Program, and most Emmy awards of any Black artist in history.

A San Diego native, RuPaul became a popular fixture on the New York City nightclub scene and achieved international fame with the song "Supermodel (You Better Work)" from his 1993 debut album. He has written and recorded 18 studio albums to date.

RuPaul gained notoriety as a captivating and influential figure known for breaking down barriers and promoting self-expression and acceptance. In 1995, he became the first face of MAC Cosmetics, raising millions for the MAC AIDS Fund and becoming the first man to land a major cosmetics campaign. The next year, he landed a TV talk show on VH1. In 2017, RuPaul was named one of the TIME 100 list of the world’s most influential people.

RuPaul has appeared in over 50 films and television shows both in and out of drag. As an author, he has published three books: GuRu (Harper Collins, 2018), Workin' It! RuPaul's Guide to Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Style (Harper Collins, 2010), and Lettin' It All Hang Out (Hyperion Books, 1995).
Industry Reviews
'Mama Ru has already given us all so much, so you'd think you have the whole picture. You don't. This memoir is a gift. A vivid masterclass in resilience, glamour, and the pursuit of authenticity.' - Rhys Nicholson

More in Memoirs

Down With the System : A Memoir (Of Sorts) - Serj Tankian
Fragile Creatures : A Memoir - Khin Myint

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Hana : The audacity to be free - Hana Assafiri

RRP $34.95

$31.75

Because I Love Him - Ashlee Donohue

RRP $27.99

$26.50

Graft : Motherhood, Family and a Year on the Land - Maggie MacKellar
Better Man - Isaac Butterfield

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$34.95

Strange Little Girl - Jessica Knight

RRP $36.99

$33.25

10%
OFF
The Life of Dai - Dai Henwood

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Black Duck : A Year at Yumburra - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Choice : A true story of hope - Edith Eger

RRP $24.99

$23.75

PARIS : The Memoir - Paris Hilton

RRP $34.99

$31.75