Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The House at the Edge of Magic : The House at the Edge of Magic - Amy Sparkes

The House at the Edge of Magic

By: Amy Sparkes

Paperback | 6 January 2021

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.


A quirky, funny and fast-paced middle grade fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Kaye Umansky, Sophie Anderson and Peter Bunzl.

Nine is an orphan pickpocket determined to escape her life in the Nest of a Thousand Treasures. When she steals a house-shaped ornament from a mysterious woman's purse, she knocks on its tiny door and watches it grow into a huge, higgledy-piggeldy house. Inside she finds a host of magical and brilliantly funny characters, including Flabberghast – a young wizard who’s particularly competitive at hopscotch – and a hideous troll housekeeper who’s emotionally attached to his feather duster. They have been placed under an extraordinary spell, which they are desperate for Nine to break. If she can, maybe they can offer her a new life in return…

About the Author

Amy Sparkes studied English Literature and Theology at the University of Kent, and began writing after moving to Devon with her husband, six young children and an overactive imagination. Her books have appeared on CBeebies storytime and been shortlisted for several book awards, including the Roald Dahl Funny Prize and the BookTrust Best Books Awards for Do Not Enter the Monster Zoo.

She runs author events for children, writing workshops for aspiring children’s writers, produces the Writing for Children pages for bestselling Writing Magazine, and writes short stories for Aquila magazine. She co-founded the Writing Magazine Picture Book Prize for aspiring picture book authors.

More in Children, Teenagers & Young Adults (YA) Fiction

Bluey : The Decider - Bluey

RRP $16.99

$16.25

Of Jade and Dragons : Fall of the Dragon - Amber Chen

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Ambush at Sorato : The Royal Ranger: Book 7 - John Flanagan

SIGNED COPY

Liar's Test : The Silverleaf Chronicles - Ambelin Kwaymullina

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Willa and Woof 7 : Camp Chaos - Jacqueline Harvey

RRP $12.99

$12.35

Protectors : Wylah the Koorie Warrior 3 - Jordan Gould

RRP $15.99

$15.25

LightWorkers - Anna Sarelas

Paperback

RRP $27.95

$26.75

The Sea in Me - Cody Simpson

Hardcover

RRP $19.99

$18.95

The Missing Tooth : Billie B Brown Series : Book 19 - Sally Rippin
The Soccer Star : Billie B Brown Series : Book 2 - Sally Rippin
Waiting for the Storks - Katrina Nannestad

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Wild Australian Life - Leonard Cronin

RRP $29.99

$27.90

Jelly-Boy - Nicole Godwin

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$17.25

When the War Came Home - Lesley Parr

RRP $16.99

$15.90