Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The History Of Middle-earth 2 : The Lays of Beleriand, The Shaping of Middle-earth & The Lost Road [Boxed Set Edition] - J. R. R. Tolkien

The History Of Middle-earth 2

The Lays of Beleriand, The Shaping of Middle-earth & The Lost Road [Boxed Set Edition]

By: J. R. R. Tolkien, Christopher Tolkien

Multi-Copy Pack | 31 July 2024

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Second in a series of hardback boxed sets celebrating the literary achievement of Christopher Tolkien, featuring double-sided dustjackets. Includes THE LAYS OF BELERIAND, THE SHAPING OF MIDDLE-EARTH and THE LOST ROAD , which contain the early myths and legends that led to the writings of THE SILMARILLION.

The Lays of Beleriand
gives us a privileged insight into the creation of the mythology of Middle-earth through the alliterative verse tales of two of the most crucial stories in Tolkien’s world – those of Túrin and of Beren and Lúthien. Accompanying the poems are commentaries on the evolution of the history of the Elder Days, together with the notable criticism of The Lay of Leithian by C.S. Lewis, who read the poem in 1929.

In The Shaping of Middle-earth the chronological and geographical structure of the legends of Middle-earth and Valinor is spread before us. We are introduced to the hitherto unknown Ambarkanta or ‘Shape of the World’, the only account ever given of the nature of the imagined Universe, accompanied by maps and diagrams of the world before and after the cataclysms of the War of the Gods and the Downfall of Númenor. Also included are the original ‘Silmarillion’ of 1926, and the Quenta Noldorinwa of 1930 – the only version of the myths and legends of the First Age that J.R.R. Tolkien completed to their end.

The Lost Road completes the examination of Tolkien’s writing completes the examination of Tolkien's writing before he began The Lord of the Rings, presenting later forms of the annals of Valinor and Beleriand, the legend of the downfall of Númenor, and the abandoned ‘time-travel’ story The Lost Road, linking the world of Númenor and Middle-earth with the legends of many other times and peoples.

Published together for the first time, these three books comprise a fascinating period of Christopher Tolkien’s forty-year career devoted to presenting his father J.R.R. Tolkien’s writings on Middle-earth, itself a unique accomplishment that celebrates the greatest invented world in all of fantasy literature.

Other Books By J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit - J R R Tolkien


RRP $17.99


The Art of the Hobbit [75th Anniversary Edition] - J R R Tolkien

RRP $55.00


Beren And Luthien - JRR Tolkien

RRP $22.99


A Secret Vice : Tolkien on Invented Languages - J.R.R. Tolkien
The Lord of the Rings : TV-Tie-In Single Volume Edition - J R R Tolkien