Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Hidden History of the White House : Power Struggles, Scandals, and Defining Moments - Corey Mead

The Hidden History of the White House

Power Struggles, Scandals, and Defining Moments

By: Corey Mead, Kate Andersen Brower (Foreword by)

Hardcover | 4 June 2024

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

For fans of The Residence and The Presidents Club, and inspired by Wondery's long-running hit podcast American History Tellers, The Hidden History of the White House shares the untold stories of some of the most dramatic events in American history in the rooms where they happened.

For more than two centuries, the White House in Washington, DC, has been the stage for some of the most dramatic scenes in American history. Its walls and portraits have witnessed fierce power struggles, world-altering decisions, shocking scandals, and unforgettable meetings.

In the signature style of the popular American History Tellers podcast, The Hidden History of the White House places readers in the point of view of the historical figures--power brokers and everyday Americans, alike--who lived through such pivotal events as:

    Andrew Jackson's disastrous 1829 inauguration, when a populist mob overran and trashed the White House.Woodrow Wilson's stroke, which led to his wife Edith serving as a shadow president during the final months of his administrationAbraham Lincoln's clandestine journey to Washington to dodge an assassination plot on the eve of the Civil WarWinston Churchill's wartime sojourn at the White House, during which he and FDR developed plans to defeat GermanyBarack Obama's decision to green-light the daring Navy SEAL raid that killed Osama bin Ladenand so much more.

Equal parts social, political, and cultural history--written and presented in the entertaining and engaging style for which American History Tellers is famous--The Hidden History of the White House offers readers a rare opportunity to walk the halls of an iconic American landmark and discover the hidden moments that took place there, moments that changed the course of history.

More in History of the Americas

Great American Railroad Journeys - Michael Portillo

RRP $49.99

$20.35

59%
OFF
Waco : David Koresh, the Branch Davidians, and A Legacy of Rage - Jeff Guinn
Vanity Fair 100 Years : From the Jazz Age to Our Age - Graydon Carter
King : The Life of Martin Luther King - Jonathan Eig

RRP $49.99

$38.75

22%
OFF
DK Eyewitness Alaska : DK Eyewitness Travel Guides Alaska - Dk Eyewitness
I Alone Can Fix It : Donald J. Trump's Catastrophic Final Year - Carol D. Leonnig
Alexander Hamilton - Ron Chernow

RRP $27.99

$26.50

The Motorcycle Diaries - Ernesto Che Guervara

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Long Road : Pearl Jam and the Soundtrack of a Generation - Steven Hyden
Life : My Story Through History - Pope Francis

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Vegas Gold : The Entertainment Capital of the World 1950-1980 - David Wills