+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Gulag Archipelago : An Experiment in Literary Investigation Vol. 1 - Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

The Gulag Archipelago

An Experiment in Literary Investigation Vol. 1

Paperback Published: 7th August 2007
ISBN: 9780061253713
Number Of Pages: 660

Share This Book:


RRP $43.99
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 66 Qantas Points
on this Book

Volume 1 of the gripping epic masterpiece, Solzhenitsyn's chilling report of his arrest and interrogation, which exposed to the world the vast bureaucracy of secret police that haunted Soviet society.

About the Author

After serving as a decorated captain in the Soviet Army during World War II, Aleksandr Isayevich Solzhenitsyn (1918-2008) was sentenced to prison for eight years for criticizing Stalin and the Soviet government in private letters. Solzhenitsyn vaulted from unknown schoolteacher to internationally famous writer in 1962 with the publication of his novella One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich; he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1968. The writer's increasingly vocal opposition to the regime resulted in another arrest, a charge of treason, and expulsion from the USSR in 1974, the year The Gulag Archipelago, his epic history of the Soviet prison system, first appeared in the West. For eighteen years, he and his family lived in Vermont. In 1994 he returned to Russia. Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn died at his home in Moscow in 2008.

Industry Reviews

"Solzhenitsyn's masterpiece. ... The Gulag Archipelago helped create the world we live in today."--Anne Applebaum, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Gulag: A History, from the foreword

Part I: The Prison Industry
1. Arrest
2. The History of Our Sewage Disposal System
3. The Interrogation
4. The Bluecaps
5. First Cell, First Love
6. That Spring
7. In the Engine Room
8. The Law as a Child
9. The Law Becomes a Man
10. The Law Matures
11. The Supreme Measure
12. Tyurzak

Part II: Perpetual Motion
1. The Ships of the Archipelago
2. The Ports of the Archipelago
3. The Slave Caravans
4. From Island to Island

Part III: The Destructive-Labor Camps
1. The Fingers of Aurora
2. The Archipelago Rises from the Sea
3. The Archipelago Metastasizes
4. The Archipelago Hardens
5. What the Archipelago Stands On
6. "They've Brought the Fascists!"
7. The Way of Life and Customs of the Natives - 220
8. Women in Camp
10. In Place of Politicals
11. The Loyalists
12. Knock, Knock, Knock...
13. Hand Over Your Second Skin Too!
14. Changing One's Fate
15. Punishments
16. The Socially Friendly
17. The Kids
18. The Muses in Gulag
19. The Zeks as a Nation
20. The Dogs' Service
21. Campside
22. We are Building

Part IV: The Soul and Barbed Wire
1. The Ascent
2. Or Corruption?
3. Our Muzzled Freedom

Part V: Katorga
1. The Doomed
2. The First Whiff of Revolution
3. Chains, Chains...
4. Why Did We Stand For It?
5. Poetry Under a Tombstone, Truth Under a Stone
6. The Committed Escaper
7. The White Kitten (Georgi Tenno's Tale)
8. Escapes - Morale and Mechanics
9. The Kids with Tommy Guns
10. Behind the Wire the Ground Is Burning
11. Tearing at the Chains
12. The Forty Days of Kengir

Part VI: Exile
1. Exile in the First Years of Freedom
2. The Peasant Plague
3. The Ranks of Exile Thicken
4. Nations in Exile
5. End of Sentence
6. The Good Life in Exile
7. Zeks at Liberty

Part VII: Stalin Is No More
1. Looking Back on it All
2. Rulers Change, the Archipelago Remains
3. The Law Today


ISBN: 9780061253713
ISBN-10: 0061253715
Series: Perennial Classics : Book 1
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 660
Published: 7th August 2007
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.32 x 13.34  x 3.18
Weight (kg): 0.54

Earn 66 Qantas Points
on this Book