The Good Son : A Story From The First World War, Told In Miniature - Pierre-Jaques Ober

The Good Son

A Story From The First World War, Told In Miniature

By: Pierre-Jaques Ober, Felicity Coonan (Illustrator), Jules Ober (Illustrator)

Hardcover | 1 June 2019

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

The Good Son wins 1st Prize at the Prix Sorcières 2019, France’s most prestigious award for children’s books A young WWI soldier's unauthorized visit home has dire consequences in a haunting story reimagined in miniature tableaux.

About one hundred years ago, the whole world went to war. The war was supposed to last months. It lasted years.

It is Christmastime, 1914, and World War I rages. A young French soldier named Pierre had quietly left his regiment to visit his family for two days, and when he returned, he was imprisoned. Now he faces execution for desertion, and as he waits in isolation, he meditates on big questions: the nature of patriotism, the horrors of war, the joys of friendship, the love of family, and how even in times of danger, there is a whole world inside every one of us. And how sometimes that world is the only refuge.

Its publication coinciding with the centennial of the signing of the Treaty of Versailles, this moving and sparely narrated story, based on true events, is reenacted in fascinating miniature scenes that convey the emotional complexity of the tale. Notes from the creators explore the innovative process and their personal connection to the story.

Book Features:
  • A book in the vein of Art Spiegleman's Maus and Shaun Tan's The Arrival, which encourages young people to grapple with the difficult truths of humanity.
  • Publishing at the centennial of the Treaty of Versailles, the peace treaty signed at the conclusion of World War 1.
  • Art is photographs of intricately detailed miniatures paired with an emotionally complex, spare story – this book is the ultimate high-low read. And it haunts you long after you finish it.

  • About the Author

    Pierre-Jacques Ober was born in a military family but broke with family tradition in his preference for philosophy over war. He lives with his wife, Australian photographer Jules Ober, in the rain forest of Australia.

    About the Illustrator

    Jules Ober is a self-taught photographer and designer as well as a multimedia producer, teacher of digital imagery, and website creator. She lives in Australia with her husband, Pierre-Jacques Ober.
    Industry Reviews
    Although it is based on a real story, the book has the force of a timeless fable, thanks to minimal, poetic text. Shallow depth-of-field photography by Ober's wife, Jules, and digital enhancements by Felicity Coonan make the images especially lifelike. These striking miniatures have the power to put us in the minds of the true 'little soldiers, ' the common men who fought in a long-ago war and yet whose story feels so present here.
    --The New York Times Book Review

    ...the powerfully atmospheric art compels attention. Riveting...likely to stir strong responses in reflective readers.
    --Kirkus Reviews

    Based on a true story, The Good Son is an emotionally rich account of friendship, loyalties tested, the horrors of war, and the price paid for choices made. Through spare narrative and intensely detailed photos of the miniature scenes created that make this book come alive, this selection is stirring on multiple levels.
    --Kendal A. Rautzhan's "Books to Borrow...Books to Buy"

    More in Picture Books in General

    Claris Gets Dressed : A Petite Claris Delight - Megan Hess
    Claris, How Do You Feel? : A Petite Claris Delight - Megan Hess
    Dog Man : The Scarlet Shedder : A Graphic Novel : Book 12 - Dav Pilkey
    Our Flag, Our Story : The Torres Strait Islander Flag - Bernard Namok Jnr
    Bluey : The Decider - Bluey

    RRP $16.99

    $10.95

    36%
    OFF
    Where Will the Sleepy Sheep Sleep? - David Metzenthen

    RRP $19.99

    $16.25

    19%
    OFF
    The Truck Cat - Deborah Frenkel

    Hardcover

    RRP $24.99

    $21.75

    13%
    OFF
    Shadow Catchers - Kirsty Murray

    RRP $24.99

    $19.90

    20%
    OFF
    Country - Aunty Fay Muir

    Hardcover

    RRP $24.99

    $21.75

    13%
    OFF
    That's Not My Shark : THAT'S NOT MY - Rachel Wells

    RRP $14.99

    $14.25

    Where is the Green Sheep? Celebration Book - Mem Fox
    Backyard Footy - Carl Merrison

    RRP $16.99

    $15.80

    Let Me Be Frank - Jessica Urlichs

    RRP $19.99

    $18.25

    ABC Disability - Sarah Rose

    RRP $24.99

    $21.75

    13%
    OFF
    Two Doting Dads : The Quest for Free Time - Ashton Wicks
    Happy All Over - Emma Quay

    RRP $24.99

    $21.75

    13%
    OFF
    Shake A Leg - Boori Monty Pryor

    Hardcover

    RRP $24.99

    $21.75

    13%
    OFF
    Guess What We Are Doing Today? : Mr Luke's First Book - Luke Springer
    Gracie the Princess Pony - Kate Waterhouse

    RRP $19.99

    $13.75

    31%
    OFF
    Dinosaur in My Pocket - Ashleigh Barton

    RRP $24.99

    $17.25

    31%
    OFF
    Fancy Nancy : Fancy Nancy Series - Jane O'Connor

    RRP $16.99

    $15.80