Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The God Painter - Jessica Pegis

The God Painter

By: Jessica Pegis

Paperback | 15 October 2021

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

In the year 2035 humanity is rescued from a lethal solar flare by seven mysterious beings and transported across the universe to the uninhabited planet of Ansar. Earth's major cities are recreated, and a stunned but thankful humanity mostly carries on with life and society. But is everything as it appears? Just who are the semi-omniscient beings who rescued them? What do they really want? And to what secret place do they retreat every night? With that appearance of the seven, all the old divisions concerning gender, privilege, and power re-emerge in unexpected and increasingly dangerous ways. Conspiracy theories abound. Among those searching for answers are Joy, a gay commercial artist, and her friend, Leo, a widowed theology professor and Vatican consultant. In the end, the truth may prove more costly than either imagined.
Industry Reviews
“A brilliant and inventive work of spiritual imagination. Pegis has written a novel that grapples with some of the most pressing issues we face—social justice, human sexuality, the ever-expanding influence of technology—to name a few. The core of the story is a testament to the eternal, that feeling of standing outside time as we search for meaning. It pulses through every page as the characters look for signs of the sacred in a future world which feels strange and unfamiliar.”
—Alexandria Barbera, Contributor, Women in Theology (blog)

“Pegis tells a gripping story with theological underpinnings, in the vein of Walter Miller’s Canticle for Leibowitz, Mary Doria Russell’s The Sparrow and Children of God, and Michael Flynn’s Eifelheim. The God Painter is a major new contribution to this fascinating subgenre of science fiction.”
—William D. Lindsey, editor of Fiat Flux

You Can Find This Book In

More in Modern & Contemporary Fiction

Blue Sisters : Our June Book of the Month - Coco Mellors

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
My Favourite Mistake - Marian Keyes

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Funny Story : The New 2024 novel from the author of Happy Place - Emily Henry
Caledonian Road - Andrew O'Hagan

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Parade - Rachel Cusk

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

I Hope This Finds You Well - Natalie Sue

RRP $34.99

$33.25

The Little Clothes - Deborah Callaghan

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Call It What You Want : A Novel - Alissa DeRogatis

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Hurdy Gurdy - Jenny Ackland

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Shadows of Winter Robins - Louise Wolhuter

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Love from Scratch - Amy Hutton

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Book of Elsewhere

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Spoiled Heart - Sunjeev Sahota

RRP $34.99

$31.75

This product is categorised by