+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Girl With A Mind For Math : The Story of Raye Montague : Amazing Scientists - Julia Finley Mosca

The Girl With A Mind For Math : The Story of Raye Montague

Amazing Scientists

By: Julia Finley Mosca, Daniel Rieley (Illustrator)

Hardcover Published: 4th September 2018
ISBN: 9781943147427
Number Of Pages: 40

Share This Book:

Hardcover

RRP $24.99
$20.35
19%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 41 Qantas Points
on this Book

Meet Raye Montague - the hidden mastermind who made waves in the U.S. Navy!

After touring a German submarine in the early 1940s, young Raye set her sights on becoming an engineer. Little did she know sexism and racial inequality would challenge that dream every step of the way, even keeping her greatest career accomplishment a secret for decades. Through it all, the gifted mathematician persisted - finally gaining her well-deserved title in history: a pioneer who changed the course of ship design forever.

The Girl With a Mind for Math: The Story of Raye Montague is the third book in a riveting educational series about the inspiring lives of amazing scientists. In addition to the illustrated rhyming tale, you'll find a complete biography, fun facts, a colorful timeline of events, and even a note from Montague herself!

About the Author

Julia Finley Mosca is a copywriter and former journalist who spent more than a decade in Hollywood crafting messages for money. After working with such recognizable brands as Entertainment Tonight, Yahoo!, American Greetings, and JibJab, she landed her most rewarding job yet mom to one ferociously curious and spunky little girl. The Amazing Scientists series marks Mosca's debut into the magical world of children's books.

About the Author

Daniel Rieley is a British freelance illustrator based in Lisbon. After studying at The Arts Institute Bournemouth, taking an epic backpacking adventure in Australia, and working 3 years in London, he decided to take off to sunny Portugal. For the last 2 years, Daniel has been working on several illustration projects in advertising, print, card design, and children's picture books. When Daniel is not drawing you can probably find him trying to catch waves, taking photos with old cameras, or playing his newly discovered sport Padel.

Industry Reviews

"Accompanied by expressive digitized illustrations, this rhyming picture-book biography describes the challenges and triumphs Montague met as an African American woman. . . Hidden Figures fans will applaud."--Booklist
Praise for THE AMAZING SCIENTISTS series:
"Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences."
- School Library Journal

"Fans of Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist."
-Booklist

"The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person."
-Kirkus Reviews

"I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields." -Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza

"Think of this as a real-life Rosie Revere Engineer or Ada Twist Scientist! Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously."
- Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore


"A solid addition to the picture book biography shelves and STEAM curricula for young readers."--School Library Journal

ISBN: 9781943147427
ISBN-10: 1943147426
Series: Amazing Scientists
Audience: Children
For Grades: 2 - 3
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 40
Published: 4th September 2018
Publisher: The Innovation Press
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 24.8 x 24.8  x 1.27
Weight (kg): 0.52

Earn 41 Qantas Points
on this Book