Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Girl Who Thought in Pictures : The Story of Dr. Temple Grandin - Julia Finley Mosca

The Girl Who Thought in Pictures

The Story of Dr. Temple Grandin

By: Julia Finley Mosca, Daniel Rieley (Illustrator)

Hardcover | 1 December 2017

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

If you’ve ever felt different, if you’ve ever been low, if you don’t quite fit in, there’s a name you should know...Meet Dr. Temple Grandin - one of the world’s quirkiest science heroes!

When young Temple was diagnosed with autism, no one expected her to talk, let alone become one of the most powerful voices in modern science. Yet, the determined visual thinker did just that. Her unique mind allowed her to connect with animals in a special way, helping her invent groundbreaking improvements for farms around the globe! The Girl Who Thought in Pictures: The Story of Dr. Temple Grandin is the first book in a brand new educational series about the inspirational lives of amazing scientists. In addition to the illustrated rhyming tale, you’ll find a complete biography, fun facts, a colorful timeline of events, and even a note from Temple herself!
Industry Reviews
"Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences." --School Library Journal

"Fans of Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist." -- Booklist

"The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person." -- Kirkus Reviews

"I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields." -- Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza

"Think of this as a real-life Rosie Revere Engineer or Ada Twist Scientist! Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously." -- Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore

Empowering Girls

Frida Kahlo : Little People, BIG DREAMS - Isabel Sanchez Vegara

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Some Girls - Nelly Thomas

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.95

The Princess in Black : Princess in Black - Shannon Hale
Pink : A Women's March Story - Virginia Zimmerman

RRP $29.99

$23.25

22%
OFF
Ellie, Engineer : Ellie, Engineer - Jackson Pearce

Empowering Kids

Frida Kahlo : Little People, BIG DREAMS - Isabel Sanchez Vegara

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Some Girls - Nelly Thomas

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.95

The Princess in Black : Princess in Black - Shannon Hale
Bold Tales for Brave-hearted Boys - Matt Huynh

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Ellie, Engineer : Ellie, Engineer - Jackson Pearce
High Five to the Boys : A Celebration of Ace Australian Men - Various

Kids Month - STEAM

Space Snap : Snap Cards - Fiona Watt

Card or Card Deck

RRP $12.99

$12.35

Quark's Academy - Catherine Pelosi

RRP $15.99

$15.25