+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Girl Who Thought in Pictures : The Story of Dr. Temple Grandin - Julia Finley Mosca

The Girl Who Thought in Pictures

The Story of Dr. Temple Grandin

By: Julia Finley Mosca, Daniel Rieley (Illustrator)

Hardcover Published: 1st December 2017
ISBN: 9781943147304
Number Of Pages: 32

Share This Book:

Hardcover

RRP $24.99
$20.35
19%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 41 Qantas Points
on this Book

If you’ve ever felt different, if you’ve ever been low, if you don’t quite fit in, there’s a name you should know...Meet Dr. Temple Grandin - one of the world’s quirkiest science heroes!

When young Temple was diagnosed with autism, no one expected her to talk, let alone become one of the most powerful voices in modern science. Yet, the determined visual thinker did just that. Her unique mind allowed her to connect with animals in a special way, helping her invent groundbreaking improvements for farms around the globe! The Girl Who Thought in Pictures: The Story of Dr. Temple Grandin is the first book in a brand new educational series about the inspirational lives of amazing scientists. In addition to the illustrated rhyming tale, you’ll find a complete biography, fun facts, a colorful timeline of events, and even a note from Temple herself!

Industry Reviews

"Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences." --School Library Journal

"Fans of Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist." -- Booklist

"The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person." -- Kirkus Reviews

"I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields." -- Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza

"Think of this as a real-life Rosie Revere Engineer or Ada Twist Scientist! Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously." -- Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore

ISBN: 9781943147304
ISBN-10: 1943147302
Series: Amazing Scientists
Audience: Children
For Grades: 2 - 3
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 32
Published: 1st December 2017
Publisher: The Innovation Press
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 25.4 x 25.4  x 1.27
Weight (kg): 0.54

Earn 41 Qantas Points
on this Book