+612 9045 4394
The Fugitive Poets : Modern Southern Poetry - William Pratt

The Fugitive Poets

Modern Southern Poetry

Paperback Published: 28th December 1991
ISBN: 9781879941007
Number Of Pages: 207

Share This Book:


Ships in 5 to 9 business days

Other Available Editions (Hide)

This new edition of William Pratt's indispensable anthology of Southern poetry, The Fugitive Poets, contains an expanded selection of poems and poets not included in the original, including six poems by Laura Riding, the only female member of the Fugitive group. Originally published in The Fugitive magazine from 1922 to 1925, the group dominated by Robert Penn Warren, John Crowe Ransom, Donald Davidson, and Allen Tate formed the major school of 20th Century poetry in America. This collection chronicles the impact of literary modernism on these (mostly) Southern poets as their region was taking its "backward glance" before stepping over into the modern world.

Introduction: In Pursuit of the Fugitives
Bells for John Whiteside's Daughterp. 3
Dead Boyp. 4
The Vanity of the Blue Girlsp. 5
The Vanity of the Bright Young Menp. 6
Conrad in Twilightp. 8
Necrologicalp. 9
Janet Wakingp. 11
Piazza Piecep. 12
Old Mansionp. 13
Philomelap. 15
Amphibious Crocodilep. 17
Captain Carpenterp. 20
The Equilibristsp. 22
Painted Headp. 24
Antique Harvestersp. 26
An Intellectual's Funeralp. 28
A Sonnet of the Yellow Leafp. 29
To a Park Swanp. 30
Utterancep. 31
Lines for a Tombp. 32
Redivivusp. 33
Lee in the Mountains, 1865-1870p. 34
Sequel of Appomattoxp. 38
Twilight on Union Streetp. 39
On a Replica of the Parthenonp. 40
Randall, My Sonp. 41
Sanctuaryp. 42
Hermitagep. 45
Lines Written for Allen Tate on His Sixtieth Anniversaryp. 48
Refugeesp. 50
He Who Loved Beautyp. 51
Sonnetp. 53
Death, My Companionp. 54
A Hemlock at Sunsetp. 55
Icarus in Novemberp. 56
Quodlibetp. 58
To Intellectual Detachmentp. 60
Non Omnis Moriarp. 61
Death of Little Boysp. 62
The Mediterraneanp. 63
Aeneas at Washingtonp. 65
Ode to the Confederate Deadp. 67
Mr. Popep. 70
Last Days of Alicep. 71
Seasons of the Soulp. 73
The Swimmersp. 80
Cumaep. 83
The Noise That Time Makesp. 84
The Book of Howp. 85
Literature: The God, Its Ritualp. 86
To a Tired Clerkp. 87
The Watchersp. 88
Half Saidp. 89
The Fugitivesp. 90
Dimensionsp. 91
Summary for Alastorp. 93
Virgin of the Hillsp. 94
The Poet's Cornerp. 95
Starvedp. 96
The Only Daughterp. 97
A Valentinep. 98
The Last Frontierp. 99
Stark Majorp. 101
Edward Gravesp. 103
To a Face in a Crowdp. 104
Aubade for Hopep. 106
Crimep. 107
Original Sin: A Short Storyp. 109
Pursuitp. 111
The Ballad of Billie Pottsp. 113
Bearded Oaksp. 129
To a Little Girl, One Year Old, in a Ruined Fortressp. 131
School Lesson Based on Word of Tragic Death of Entire Gillum Familyp. 139
Tell Me a Story (Part VII of Audubon: A Vision)p. 141
Heart of Autumnp. 142
A Selected Bibliographyp. 143
Acknowledgmentsp. 155
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9781879941007
ISBN-10: 1879941007
Series: Southern Classics Series
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 207
Published: 28th December 1991
Publisher: J S SANDERS & CO
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.34 x 13.01  x 1.52
Weight (kg): 0.27