+612 9045 4394
The Four Stages of Rabbinic Judaism - Jacob Neusner

The Four Stages of Rabbinic Judaism

By: Jacob Neusner (Editor)

Paperback Published: 22nd April 1999
ISBN: 9780415195317
Number Of Pages: 256

Share This Book:


RRP $155.99
or 4 easy payments of $28.99 with Learn more
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

This comprehensive book provides a lucid introduction to Rabbinic Judaism, defined as the Judaism built on the story of God's revelation to Moses of the Torah at Sinai.
Jacob Neusner outlines and examines the four stages in which the initial period of the historical development of Rabbinic Judaism divides, beginning with the Pentateuch and ending with its definitive and normative statement in the Talmud of Babylonia. He traces the development of Rabbinic Judaism by exploring the relationships between and among the cognate writings which embody its formative history.

The Pentateuchal Stage
From Scripture to the Mishnah
The Mishnah on its own: The Initial Statement
The Mishnah in Pentateuchal Context: Continuity and Change
The Talmuds: The Conclusive Statement
The Talmuds in Pentateuchal Context: Israel in History
Acknowledgements and Bibliography
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780415195317
ISBN-10: 0415195314
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 256
Published: 22nd April 1999
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.23 x 13.97  x 1.91
Weight (kg): 0.39
Edition Number: 1