+612 9045 4394
The Foolish Virgin - Margaret Penn

The Foolish Virgin

Paperback Published: 4th May 1981
ISBN: 9780521282970
Number Of Pages: 256

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

The Foolish Virgin is a biographical sequel to Manchester Fourteen Miles, in which Margaret Penn describes her childhood in a Lancashire labourer's family at the turn of the century. The sequel begins where the earlier book leaves off with Hilda Winstanley (alias Margaret Penn) arriving in London to live with her real father's family. It is a moving and humorous account of a young girl's reaction to being taken from a highly traditional rural working-class family and plunged into the sophisticated and active life of a middle-class professional family. By the end of the book Hilda Winstanley is a complete member of a higher class; literate, cultured, politically aware as a liberal and suffragist and prepared to earn her living as a secretary. The three volumes were popular with reviewers and readers in the late 1940s but then fell out of print. They now hold new appeal, as an important record of a fascinating period of social history, as well as a moving and evocative account of one woman's life. Cambridge University Press is delighted to make them available for a new generation to enjoy.

The nation of London
Sunday: new style
Aunt Helen and Aunt Mildred
The first battle
The Flowre of cities all
Processes of education
Hilda alone
Mr Rumsey's establishment
Mr Ram Lal
The cause
Earning once more
Return to Moss Ferry
Old aquaintance
Onslaught of the hosts of Midian
A young girl out in the world
Encounter with a real author
The year 1914
The plains of heaven
Paradise deferred
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521282970
ISBN-10: 0521282977
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 256
Published: 4th May 1981
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.59 x 13.97  x 1.47
Weight (kg): 0.33