Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Flying Vet : The extraordinary inspiring true story of life as a female vet and farmer in the remote Australian outback, perfect for fans of Muster Dogs and Back Roads - Ameliah Scott

The Flying Vet

The extraordinary inspiring true story of life as a female vet and farmer in the remote Australian outback, perfect for fans of Muster Dogs and Back Roads

By: Ameliah Scott, David Brewster (As told to)

Paperback | 21 June 2023

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
My journey to the skies and the people and animals of the Australian outback

The inspiring story of the intrepid Dr Ameliah Scott, the Flying Vet extraordinaire.

Ameliah isn't your average vet - flying solo over a staggering territory of 200,000 square kilometres of red dirt and bush to tend to animals of all shapes and sizes, she's a rare combination of female flying vet and fifth generation farmer in remote Australia. She brings much needed solace, care and reassurance to remote farming communities in the heart of the country, while also raising her own young family.

With charm, honesty and wit, Ameliah tells stories from a life on the road and the skies, from attending the School of the Air and becoming a vet, to operating her mobile service in some of the most remote parts of the country. Her story spreads as far as her clients are scattered across the outback, from far western New South Wales to northern Victoria, from the southwest of Queensland to eastern South Australia, treating valuable stock animals and beloved pets, and providing a precious lifeline for their owners.

Funny, moving and uplifting, Ameliah tells us about the diverse community she serves and the animals she treats, and celebrates the bush and the people of the outback - and Ameliah's passion for animal welfare. From treating animals in distress, wrangling hot blooded goats to gelding biting horses and treating pregnant and calving cattle, Ameliah also battles the changing conditions of the bush, and the scourge of feral animals and plagues - all while navigating vast distances from the air, and raising her own young family on her own 120,000-acre cattle and sheep farm.

Humour, hope and healing from the heart of Australia

About the Author

The extraordinary Dr Ameliah Scott isn't your average vet. Born and bred of the far west of New South Wales, Ameliah is a fifth-generation cattle and sheep farmer and a passionate young veterinarian who provides crucial assistance to her outback community. Ameliah flies solo over a staggering territory of 200,000 square kilometres to tend to sick, injured and pregnant animals of all shapes and sizes - and bringing much need solace, care and reassurance to farming communities in the heart of Australia.

More in Memoirs

Down With the System : A Memoir (Of Sorts) - Serj Tankian
Fragile Creatures : A Memoir - Khin Myint

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Graft : Motherhood, Family and a Year on the Land - Maggie MacKellar

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Light We Carry : Overcoming In Uncertain Times - Michelle Obama
Because I Love Him - Ashlee Donohue

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
Hana : The audacity to be free - Hana Assafiri

RRP $34.95

$28.40

19%
OFF
Better Man - Isaac Butterfield

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$34.95

The Voice Inside - John Farnham

RRP $49.99

$38.75

22%
OFF
Strange Little Girl - Jessica Knight

RRP $36.99

$29.75

20%
OFF
The Life of Dai - Dai Henwood

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Uses for Obsession : A Chef's Memoir - Ben Shewry

RRP $36.99

$29.75

20%
OFF
Black Duck : A Year at Yumburra - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Unlovable - Darren Hayes

Paperback

RRP $36.99

$29.75

20%
OFF
PARIS : The Memoir - Paris Hilton

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF