Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Eye of the Sheep - Sofie Laguna
Miles Franklin Award Winner

The Eye of the Sheep

By: Sofie Laguna

Paperback | 1 February 2016

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
Winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2015.

Ned was beside me, his messages running easily through him, with space between each one, coming through him like water. He was the go-between, going between the animal kingdom and this one. I watched the waves as they rolled and crashed towards us, one after another, never stopping, always changing. I knew what was making them come, I had been there and I would always know.

Meet Jimmy Flick. He's not like other kids - he's both too fast and too slow. He sees too much, and too little. Jimmy's mother Paula is the only one who can manage him. She teaches him how to count sheep so that he can fall asleep. She holds him tight enough to stop his cells spinning. It is only Paula who can keep Jimmy out of his father's way. But when Jimmy's world falls apart, he has to navigate the unfathomable world on his own, and make things right.

Sofie Laguna's first novel One Foot Wrong received rave reviews, sold all over the world and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award and shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award. In The Eye of the Sheep, her great originality and talent will again amaze and move readers. In the tradition of Room and The Lovely Bones, here is a surprising and brilliant novel from one of our finest writers.

About the Author

Sofie Laguna originally studied to be a lawyer, but after deciding law was not for her, she trained as an actor. Sofie is now an author, actor and playwright. Her books for young people have been named Honour Books and Notable Books in the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Awards and have been shortlisted in the Queensland Premier's Awards. She has been published in the US and the UK and in translation in Europe and Asia.

Sofie's first novel for adults, One Foot Wrong, was also published throughout Europe, the United States and the United Kingdom. Sofie has written the screenplay for the film of One Foot Wrong, scheduled for pre-production in 2014.

Miles Franklin Award Winners

Too Much Lip : Winner of the Miles Franklin Award - Melissa Lucashenko

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
My Brother Jack : A &R Australian Classics - George Johnston

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Labyrinth : Winner of the 2021 Miles Franklin Literary Award - Amanda Lohrey
The Eye of the Sheep - Sofie Laguna

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Cloudstreet : Penguin Australian Classics - Tim Winton

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Breath - Tim Winton

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
All That I Am : Winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2012 - Anna Funder
The Yield : Winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Award - Tara June Winch
The Well Dressed Explorer : Untapped - Thea Astley

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $24.95

$22.50

10%
OFF
Dirt Music - Tim Winton

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Truth - Peter Temple

Paperback

RRP $23.95

$20.95

13%
OFF
That Deadman Dance - Kim Scott

RRP $22.99

$17.75

23%
OFF
Dark Palace - Frank Moorhouse

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$18.35

20%
OFF
The White Earth : Winner of the 2005 Miles Franklin Literary Award - Andrew McGahan
The Great Fire : Winner of the 2004 Miles Franklin Literary Award - Shirley Hazzard
Bodies of Light : Winner of the 2022 Miles Franklin Literary Award - Jennifer Down
Riders in the Chariot - Patrick White

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Shallows : Penguin Modern Classics - Tim Winton

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Oscar and Lucinda - Peter Carey

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Life to Come - Michelle de Kretser

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Ballad Of Desmond Kale - Roger McDonald

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF

Other Books By Sofie Laguna

The Grace Stories : 4 Books In One : Our Australian Girl - Sofie Laguna
The Eye of the Sheep - Sofie Laguna

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Grace and Glory : Our Australian Girl Series : Book 3 - Sofie Laguna
1836 - Do You Dare? : Fighting Bones - Sofie Laguna

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Bad Buster : Puffin Nibbles - Sofie Laguna
Meet Grace : Our Australian Girl Series : Book 1 - Sofie Laguna
The Choke - Sofie Laguna

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
A Home for Grace : Our Australian Girl Series : Book 4 - Sofie Laguna
The Song of Lewis Carmichael - Sofie Laguna

RRP $17.99

$16.75

One Foot Wrong - Sofie Laguna

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Infinite Splendours - Sofie Laguna

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
A Friend for Grace : Our Australian Girl Series : Book 2 - Sofie Laguna
The Forever House : Aussie Bites - Sofie Laguna

RRP $16.99

$15.80