Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Eleventh Floor : a darkly compelling and twisty psychological drama from a talented new Australian author. Perfect for readers who love SALLY HEPWORTH, PIP DRYSDALE and ADELE PARKS - Kylie Orr

The Eleventh Floor

a darkly compelling and twisty psychological drama from a talented new Australian author. Perfect for readers who love SALLY HEPWORTH, PIP DRYSDALE and ADELE PARKS

By: Kylie Orr

Paperback | 31 January 2024

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
The view is a killer ...

Darkly compelling and twisty psychological drama from a talented new Australian author. Perfect for readers who love Sally Hepworth, Pip Drysdale and Adele Parks.

Will one mother's lie cost another woman her life?

Sleep deprived, struggling and at breaking point, first-time mum Gracie Michaels books one night - alone - at The Maxwell Hotel. A king-size bed all to herself. No demands. With time to recharge she'll be able to return to her family more like the unflappable mother she pretends to be.

Instead, she wakes in a room she doesn't recognise after an encounter with a man who is not her husband. Then she sees something she wishes she hadn't.

Being drawn into a crime was not something Gracie had planned for her hotel stay but when a distraught family appeals for information and a police investigation heats up she is trapped in a maze of lies.

To speak out jeopardises her marriage, but her silence threatens her son, her sanity and her safety. Will Gracie destroy her own family by telling the truth or devastate someone else's by keeping her secrets?

About the Author

Kylie Orr (she/her) is a Melbourne-based writer who once kicked a winning goal in a charity football match and has never let her family hear the end of it. Over the past fifteen years, her feature articles have been published in The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, Daily Life and across News Ltd. Kylie's novels explore the darker side of humanity and question what we understand about ourselves. Her debut novel Someone Else's Child was longlisted in the Richell Prize, the MsLexia International Novel Competition and awarded the Dymocks & Fiona McIntosh Commercial Fiction Masterclass scholarship. She lives cliffside on the land of the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin nation. She shares the space with her four children, just the one husband and a cat called Alfie who has surprised everyone by taking up space in her camera roll and on her reading chair.
Industry Reviews
'A suspenseful, dark story that drew me in from the first page. The Eleventh Floor is shockingly unexpected with outcomes that feel completely realistic, alongside powerful moments of motherhood, marriage, trust and love, and a seeping sense of dread that will leave you shuddering.' - Jo Dixon, Australian bestselling author of The House of Now and Then

'An unputdownable, one-sitting read.' - Better Reading

'Orr really ramps up the tension, emotion and general agitation of this novel ... the race is definitely on to get to the pulsating conclusion of this tale.' - Mrs B's Book Reviews

'Someone Else's Child is a captivating story. In the age of GoFundMe, it raises some very timely questions about friendship, ethics and loyalty.' - Eliza Henry-Jones, author of In The Quiet

More in Crime & Mystery Fiction

Three-Inch Teeth : Joe Pickett - C.J. Box

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Lone Wolf - Gregg Hurwitz

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Last Devil To Die : The Thursday Murder Club 4 - Richard Osman
The Cryptic Clue : A Tea Ladies Mystery - Amanda Hampson

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
What Happened to Nina? : The No. 1 Bestseller - Dervla McTiernan

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
Storm Child : Cyrus Haven : Book 4 - Michael Robotham

RRP $32.99

$19.95

40%
OFF
The Midnight Feast - Lucy Foley

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Pheasants Nest - Louise Milligan

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Red River Road - Anna Downes

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Body of Lies - Sarah Bailey

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
A Refiner's Fire - Donna Leon

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Westport - James Comey

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Year of the Locust - Terry Hayes

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Apothecary Diaries 01 (Light Novel) : Apothecary Diaries - Natsu Hyuuga