The Edge of Everything : The Edge of Everything - Jeff Giles

The Edge of Everything

By: Jeff Giles

Paperback | 1 February 2017 | Edition Number 1

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

"Every human alive should read this book." -- James Dashner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Maze Runner

When their worlds collide, X and Zoe are pushed to the edge of everything in this tour de force from Entertainment Weekly veteran Jeff Giles.

For the perfect love, what would you be willing to lose?

It's been a shattering year for seventeen-year-old Zoe, who's still reeling from her father's shocking death in a caving accident and her neighbors' mysterious disappearance from their own home. Then on a terrifying subzero, blizzardy night in Montana, she and her brother are brutally attacked in the woods--only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X.

X is no ordinary bounty hunter. He is from a hell called the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe's evil attacker and others like him. X is forbidden from revealing himself to anyone other than his prey, but he casts aside the Lowlands' rules for Zoe. As they learn more about their colliding worlds, they begin to question the past, their fate, and their future. But escaping the Lowlands and the ties that bind X might mean the ultimate sacrifice for them both.

Gripping and full of heart, this epic start to a new series will bring readers right to the edge of everything.

Review by Sarah McDuling

I'm about a third of the way into The Edge of Everything and very intrigued to see how it ends. Part suspenseful thriller, part action adventure and part paranormal romance - this is the first book in what promises to be a fantastic new series.

Zoe is a feisty, wisecracking teenaged girl who has been struggling to recover from the tragic death of her feather. So far I'm loving her strength and sass! Meanwhile, X is a supernatural bounty-hunter who comes from a hell dimension called the Lowlands and is tasked with capturing evil souls. He's the epitome of the dark, brooding hero. When these two meet it's the beginning of both a star-crossed romance and an epic battle between the forces of good and evil.

The Edge of Everything is a dark and refreshingly 'edgy' take on a familiar theme (pun intended). We have all encountered stories like this before, but never told quite like this! With rave reviews from both James Dashner and Peter Jackson, I think it's a pretty safe bet that this series is destined to be adapted as a movie franchise or TV show.

Perfect for fans of The Shadowhunter series by Cassandra Clare and the Demon Road series by Derek Landry.

About the Author

Jeff Giles grew up in Cohasset, Massachusetts. Most recently, he was the deputy managing editor of Entertainment Weekly, where he oversaw all coverage of movies and books, including the magazine's championing of YA fiction. Jeff has written for Rolling Stone and The New York Times Books Review. He also coauthored The Terrorist's Son, a nonfiction book that won an Alex Award from the American Library Association and has since been translated into more than a dozen languages. While reporting on the Lord of the Rings movies for Newsweek, Jeff was invited to be an extra in The Return of the King. He played a Rohan soldier, and--because he didn't have a beard or mustache--they glued yak hair to his face. Jeff lives with his family in Montana.
Industry Reviews

"A sharp fantasy thriller, and a dark one at that." - People


"An intriguing start to a new series." - Entertainment Weekly


"A lot of fun." - New York Times Book Review


"With imagination and verve, Giles delivers the goods required by the genre." - Time


"[An] amazingly crafted novel." - USA Today


"Smartly written fantasy with depth." - New York Magazine


"A gorgeous, unearthly ride." - starred review, Shelf Awareness


"A rich and satisfying read on multiple levels." - Booklist


"Gripping. Utterly original. Beautifully written." - Peter Jackson, Oscar-winning director of The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit trilogies


"Utterly fantastic. Dark, funny, exciting . . . Every human alive should read this book." - James Dashner, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of THE MAZE RUNNER


"A fresh and addictive read." - Kami Garcia, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling coauthor of BEAUTIFUL CREATURES and author of THE LOVELY RECKLESS


"Sharp, dark, thoughtful and romantic." - Cassandra Clare, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of The Mortal Instruments series


"A dark and suspenseful supernatural thriller that kept me up all night." - Melissa de la Cruz, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of THE ISLE OF THE LOST


"Reads like a blend of J.R.R. Tolkien's "The Lord of the Rings" and modern-day horror, such as Stranger Things."- School Library Journal


"An intriguing story that leaves the door open for future books." - Publishers Weekly


"Readers are advised to dive in now and revel in the star-crossed-lovers glory of it all." - BCCB


"Fantastical in nature, this story will keep readers interested until the very end." - School Library Connection


"A wholly-engrossing page-turner." - VOYA

More in Action & Adventure Stories for Children & Teenagers

Wurrtoo : The Wombat Who Fell in Love with the Sky - Tylissa Elisara
Dog Man : The Scarlet Shedder : A Graphic Novel : Book 12 - Dav Pilkey
Weird Holiday : Weirdo - Anh Do

RRP $15.99

$9.95

38%
OFF
Billy And The Epic Escape - Jamie Oliver

RRP $14.99

$9.50

37%
OFF
Burning Crowns : Twin Crowns : Book 3 - Katherine Webber

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Swift and Hawk : Supernova - Logan Macx

RRP $18.99

$17.35

The Dare - Natasha Preston

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Detective Beans and the Case of the Missing Hat - Li Chen
Protectors : Wylah the Koorie Warrior 3 - Jordan Gould

RRP $15.99

$14.95

Beam Queen : Gymnastics Diaries : Book 1 - Georgia Godwin

RRP $14.99

$14.25

The Missing Piece : Ella at Eden : Book 11 - Laura Sieveking
Cucumber Madness! : (Cat on the Run: Episode 2) - Aaron Blabey
The Maze Runner (Classic Edition) : Maze Runner - James Dashner
Happy All Over - Emma Quay

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Nine Girls - Stacy Gregg

Paperback

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Garden Time! : Hotdog!: Book 16 - Anh Do

RRP $14.99

$14.25