The Drowning Girls : The compelling new crime mystery thriller from the award winning author of THE WHISPERING, for readers of Margaret Hickey, Chris Hammer and Hayley Scrivenor - Veronica Lando

The Drowning Girls

The compelling new crime mystery thriller from the award winning author of THE WHISPERING, for readers of Margaret Hickey, Chris Hammer and Hayley Scrivenor

By: Veronica Lando

Paperback | 5 July 2023

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

One simple sacrifice is all they need.

Cast a stone. Aim true. Let her sink.

Nate can't believe he's dragged himself up to this backwater town. Port Flinders would have fallen off the map years ago, except for one thing. Tourists flock to its mangrove-lined shores for the annual Drowning Girl festival: sacrifice a girl at sea, and the fishing hauls that keep the town afloat will prosper. Or don't and the whole town will sink.

But it's just a legend, a gimmick. Everybody knows that.

As fireworks light up the night sky, a woman's body is pulled from the inky waters of the gulf. Shock waves threaten to tear Port Flinders apart when she's identified as Kelsey Webb: a local teenager thought dead for twenty-five years.

As Nate tries to find the truth about what happened to Kelsey, he uncovers a string of deadly accidents over the decades. All women. All drowned. And always during the festival.

In his search for answers, the legend of the Drowning Girl begins to take hold of Nate, weaving its way into his head and threatening to pull him under, and he begins to question which sacrifices are truly necessary.

About the Author

Veronica Lando is an Australian crime author who won the 2021 Banjo Prize for her then-unpublished manuscript The Whispering.

As a child, she grew up above her parents' Melbourne bookstore, surrounded by other people's stories. Now, as an adult, she lives in Queensland and enjoys using the uniquely wild and sometimes dangerous landscapes of the far north to shape her writing.

In 2020, she placed in the Scarlet Stiletto awards and has since had short stories published in anthologies with both Sisters in Crime Australia and the Queensland Writers' Centre.

Veronica currently lives in Townsville with her husband and three children.
Industry Reviews
'Eerie, atmospheric and addictive, The Drowning Girls shimmers with gothic tension' - Candice Fox

'Lando grips and holds the reader underwater - the characters' nightmares of the drowning girl are palpable and the story is claustrophobic, despite the vast ocean nearby. This novel is for readers who love to delve into Sarah Bailey or Chris Hammer's mysterious, complicated histories, or swelter in Candice Fox's oppressive Queensland heat.' - Books+Publishing

'The Drowning Girls weaves superstition, small-town tensions and past deeds into a close, suffocating tale infused with the heat and humidity of far north Queensland.' - Maryrose Cuskelly

'Tropical Noir is a thing and Veronica Lando has it in the bag! A twisted tale of a desperate town, buried secrets, superstition, folklore, and murder set against a vividly realised Gulf Coast landscape that pulses off the page.' - Dinuka McKenzie

'Sophisticated prose, a setting that felt like I could reach out and touch it, and more twists and reveals than I could imagine - Lando's writing sucks you in and doesn't let you go.' - Mercedes Mercier

More in Crime & Mystery Fiction

Safe Haven : Our May Book of the Month - Shankari Chandran

RRP $34.99

$18.00

49%
OFF
Three-Inch Teeth : Joe Pickett - C.J. Box

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
What Happened to Nina? : The No. 1 Bestseller - Dervla McTiernan

RRP $34.99

$18.00

49%
OFF
Red River Road - Anna Downes

SIGNED COPY

RRP $34.99

$16.00

54%
OFF
The Last Devil To Die : The Thursday Murder Club 4 - Richard Osman
The Cryptic Clue : A Tea Ladies Mystery - Amanda Hampson

RRP $34.99

$18.00

49%
OFF
Crosshairs : (Michael Bennett 16) - James Patterson

RRP $34.99

$18.00

49%
OFF
Lone Wolf - Gregg Hurwitz

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Body of Lies - Sarah Bailey

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$18.00

49%
OFF
Pheasants Nest - Louise Milligan

RRP $32.99

$16.00

52%
OFF
The Poet - Michael Connelly

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Late Show - Michael Connelly

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Sweet Jimmy - Bryan Brown

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$18.25

21%
OFF
It Had to Be You : An Under Suspicion Novel - Mary Higgins Clark

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Last Devil To Die : The Thursday Murder Club 4 - Richard Osman
Private Monaco : (Private 19) - James Patterson

RRP $34.99

$18.00

49%
OFF
A Clock Stopped Dead : Liz, Pat and Thelma - J.M. Hall

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Killarney : The Second Dana Gibson Mystery - Nikki Mottram

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF