+612 9045 4394
The Deceiver - Frederick Forsyth

Paperback Published: 1st August 1992
ISBN: 9780552138239
Number Of Pages: 477

Other Formats

Share This Book:


RRP $26.99
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Other Available Editions (Hide)

Sam McCready is The Deceiver, one of the Secret Intelligence Service's most unorthodox and most valued operatives, a legend in his own time.

The end of the cold war has, however, strengthened the hand of the Whitehall mandarins, to whom he seems about as controllable as Genhis Khan, so Sam is to have his fate decided at a special hearing.

As part of the proceedings, four of Sam's key operations are reviewed: a clandestine mission into East Germany in 1985 to contact the top Russian spy General Pankratin; the second involving a KGB colonel who wants to defect - but is he genuine? An audacious Qaddafi-inspired plot to ship arms to the IRA; and the fourth when McCready presided over the aftermath of political murder and mayhem in the Caribbean.

Industry Reviews

'Not a sizzler like The Day of the Jackal or even The Negotiator but more resonant than either, with shades of le Carré and Deighton: sophisticated, shrewd, roundly satisfying spy-stuff.' - Kirkus Reviews

'Fans will not be disappointed.' - The Times

'Another Forsyth thriller that has you by the throat with plots so finely crafted as to make the cold war's very darkness visible.' - The Daily Mail

'Cleverly constructed... very readable.' - The Mail on Sunday

ISBN: 9780552138239
ISBN-10: 0552138231
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 477
Published: 1st August 1992
Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 17.9 x 10.9  x 3.0
Weight (kg): 0.246
Edition Number: 1

Frederick Forsyth

About the Author

Frederick Forsyth is the author of fifteen bestselling novels: The Day of the Jackal, The Odessa File, The Dogs of War, The Devil's Alternative, The Fourth Protocol, The Negotiator, The Deceiver, The Fist of God and Icon. His other works include The Biafra Story and No Comebacks. He lives in England.

Visit Frederick Forsyth's Booktopia Author Page

This product is categorised by