+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Daylight War : Demon Cycle : Book 3 - Peter V Brett

The Daylight War

Demon Cycle : Book 3

Paperback

Published: 24th September 2013
In Stock. Ships today or next business day from Australia
RRP $17.99
$12.25
32%
OFF

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

With The Warded Man and The Desert Spear, Peter V. Brett surged to the front rank of contemporary fantasy, standing alongside giants in the field such as George R. R. Martin, Robert Jordan, and Terry Brooks. The Daylight War, the eagerly anticipated third volume in Brett’s internationally bestselling Demon Cycle, continues the epic tale of humanity’s last stand against an army of demons that rise each night to prey on mankind.

On the night of the new moon, the demons rise in force, seeking the deaths of two men, both of whom have the potential to become the fabled Deliverer, the man prophesied to reunite the scattered remnants of humanity in a final push to destroy the demon corelings once and for all.

Arlen Bales was once an ordinary man, but now he has become something more—the Warded Man, tattooed with eldritch wards so powerful they make him a match for any demon. Arlen denies he is the Deliverer at every turn, but the more he tries to be one with the common folk, the more fervently they believe. Many would follow him, but Arlen’s path threatens to lead to a dark place he alone can travel to, and from which there may be no returning.

The only one with hope of keeping Arlen in the world of men, or joining him in his descent into the world of demons, is Renna Tanner, a fierce young woman in danger of losing herself to the power of demon magic.

Ahmann Jardir has forged the warlike desert tribes of Krasia into a demon-killing army and proclaimed himself Shar’Dama Ka, the Deliverer. He carries ancient weapons—a spear and a crown—that give credence to his claim, and already vast swaths of the green lands bow to his control.

But Jardir did not come to power on his own. His rise was engineered by his First Wife, Inevera, a cunning and powerful priestess whose formidable demon bone magic gives her the ability to glimpse the future. Inevera’s motives and past are shrouded in mystery, and even Jardir does not entirely trust her.

Once Arlen and Jardir were as close as brothers. Now they are the bitterest of rivals. As humanity’s enemies rise, the only two men capable of defeating them are divided against each other by the most deadly demons of all—those lurking in the human heart.

Look for Peter V. Brett’s complete Demon Cycle:
THE WARDED MAN | THE DESERT SPEAR | THE DAYLIGHT WAR | THE SKULL THRONE | THE CORE

Praise for The Daylight War
 
“[Peter V. Brett is] at the top of his game. I give this my highest recommendation.”—Tor.com

“[Brett] confirms his place among epic fantasy’s pantheon of greats amid the likes of George R. R. Martin, Steven Erikson, and Robert Jordan.”—Fantasy Book Critic

“Brett’s prose and flow remain virtually flawless, providing for a smooth read during which you don’t feel guilty for skipping two meals so you can lie on the couch and keep reading.”—Fixed on Fantasy

“The best book yet in The Demon Cycle. If you are looking for a great series, look no further.”—Roqoo Depot

“After the phenomenal success of both The Warded Man and The Desert Spear, I was tentative about The Daylight War; surely it couldn’t get much better? Well, I was wrong. . . . This will be a strong contender for one of the best books of the year, even this early on.”—Jet Black Ink

“Brett has his hooks in me and I want more of The Demon Cycle.”—BestFantasyBooks.com

WRITE A REVIEW

I can't wait to buy the next one.

5

It is so good I read it in 5 days. I love all of the books in this series so far.

Adelaide

true

Been waiting for the next in line.

4

because the author is very good with detail and keeps the story flowing along.

Cairns QLD

true

amzing ended lacked in story

3

this book is part of an amazing series and had an ending i thought he would draw out to the point where i wouldnt read anymore of the series. but he didnt when was good and the ending was truely worth the read. however. it went of history of charcters for about 3/4 of the book and was tedious as times to read.

sydney

true

The Daylight War

4.0 3

100.0

"[Peter V. Brett is] at the top of his game. I give this my highest recommendation."--Tor.com "[Brett] confirms his place among epic fantasy's pantheon of greats amid the likes of George R. R. Martin, Steven Erikson, and Robert Jordan."--Fantasy Book Critic "Brett's prose and flow remain virtually flawless, providing for a smooth read during which you don't feel guilty for skipping two meals so you can lie on the couch and keep reading."--Fixed on Fantasy "The best book yet in The Demon Cycle. If you are looking for a great series, look no further."--Roqoo Depot "After the phenomenal success of both The Warded Man and The Desert Spear, I was tentative about The Daylight War; surely it couldn't get much better? Well, I was wrong. . . . This will be a strong contender for one of the best books of the year, even this early on."--Jet Black Ink "Brett has his hooks in me and I want more of The Demon Cycle."--BestFantasyBooks.com From the Hardcover edition. [Peter V. Brett is] at the top of his game. I give this my highest recommendation. Tor.com [Brett] confirms his place among epic fantasy s pantheon of greats amid the likes of George R. R. Martin, Steven Erikson, and Robert Jordan. Fantasy Book Critic Brett s prose and flow remain virtually flawless, providing for a smooth read during which you don t feel guilty for skipping two meals so you can lie on the couch and keep reading. Fixed on Fantasy The best book yet in The Demon Cycle. If you are looking for a great series, look no further. Roqoo Depot After the phenomenal success of both The Warded Man and The Desert Spear, I was tentative about The Daylight War; surely it couldn t get much better? Well, I was wrong. . . . This will be a strong contender for one of the best books of the year, even this early on. Jet Black Ink Brett has his hooks in me and I want more of The Demon Cycle. BestFantasyBooks.com From the Hardcover edition." Praise for Peter V. Brett's novels of The Demon Cycle "The Warded Man" "There is much to admire in Peter Brett's writing, and his concept is brilliant. There's action and suspense all the way."--Terry Brooks "A gripping adventure--a very promising star to a new series.""--Locus"" " "[A] fast-paced and thoroughly enjoyable dark fantasy."--"The Miami Herald" "The Desert Spear" "Inspired, compelling, and totally addictive: the most significant and cinematic fantasy epic since "The Lord of the Rings"."--Paul W. S. Anderson, director of "Resident Evil: Afterlife" "Peter V. Brett is one of my favorite new authors."--Patrick Rothfuss, "New York Times" bestselling author "Fans of epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin will enjoy the arrival of a strong voice in multivolume epic fantasy."--"Library Journal"

ISBN: 9780345524157
ISBN-10: 0345524152
Series: Demon Cycle
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 688
Published: 24th September 2013
Publisher: Del Rey Books
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 17.5 x 11.1  x 3.1
Weight (kg): 0.3