+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Cruel Prince : The Folk of the Air Series: Book 1 - Holly Black

The Cruel Prince

The Folk of the Air Series: Book 1

Paperback

Published: 2nd January 2018
For Ages: 16 - 19 years old
In Stock. Ships today or next business day from Australia
RRP $19.99
$16.75
16%
OFF

The start of a thrilling new fantasy series from bestselling author Holly Black about a mortal girl who finds herself caught in a dangerous web of royal faerie intrigue.

Of course I want to be like them. They're beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.

One terrible morning, Jude and her sisters see their parents murdered in front of them. The terrifying assassin abducts all three girls to the world of Faerie, where Jude is installed in the royal court but mocked and tormented by the Faerie royalty for being mortal. As Jude grows older, she realises that she will need to take part in the dangerous deceptions of the fey to ever truly belong.

But the stairway to power is fraught with shadows and betrayal. And looming over all is the infuriating, arrogant and charismatic Prince Cardan ...

Dramatic and thrilling fantasy blends seamlessly with enthralling storytelling to create a fully realised and seductive world, brimful of magic and romance.

Review by Sarah McDuling

There is a good reason Holly Black is known as the Faerie Queen. She has an amazing talent for creating dark and twisted fairytales full of magic, danger and suspense. I adore her writing and am pleased to say The Cruel Prince is Holly Black at her absolute best!

Beginning with a brutal and tragic murder, the story follows Jude and her two sisters as they try to find a place for themselves amongst the beautiful and treacherous fey in The Court of Faerie. As a lowly human amongst the fey, Jude’s life is not easy. She is full of determination to seize control of her own fate, but what chance does she have competing against such powerful and malevolent creatures?

This is a totally spellbinding read. The story is utterly addictive, full of complex characters who are wicked, charming, evil, and brave. The world building is flawless and the plot revels in layers of intrigue, deceptions, schemes, and secrets. As always, Holly Black spins a glittering tale of magic and terror, adventure and heroism. The Cruel Prince is a dark fairytale with a spectacular game-changer ending that has left me desperate for the next book!

Perfect for fans of Melissa Marr, Francesca Lia Block, Cassandra Clare and Sarah J. Maas.

About the Author

Holly Black is the author of bestselling contemporary fantasy books for kids and teens. Some of her titles include The Spiderwick Chronicles (with Tony DiTerlizzi), The Modern Faerie Tale series, the Curse Workers series, Doll Bones, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, the Magisterium series (with Cassandra Clare), The Darkest Part of the Forest, and her new series which begins with The Cruel Prince in 2018.

She has been a a finalist for an Eisner Award, and the recipient of the Andre Norton Award, the Mythopoeic Award and a Newbery Honor. She currently lives in New England with her husband and son in a house with a secret door.

ISBN: 9781471407031
ISBN-10: 1471407039
Series: The Folk of the Air
Audience: Teenager / Young Adult
For Ages: 16 - 19 years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 2nd January 2018
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3  x 2.7
Weight (kg): 0.43