+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Complete Maus  : A Survivor's Tale : 1st Edition - Art Spiegelman

The Complete Maus

A Survivor's Tale : 1st Edition

Paperback Published: 24th November 2003
ISBN: 9780141014081
Number Of Pages: 296

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $29.99
$23.75
21%
OFF
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 48 Qantas Points
on this Book

Acclaimed as 'the most affective and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust ' (Wall Street Journal) and 'the first masterpiece in comic book history' (New Yorker), Maus is the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist, coming to terms with his father's story. Against the backdrop of guilt brought by survival, they stage a normal life of small arguments and unhappy visits. An astonishing retelling of the twentieth-century's grisliest news, Maus studies the bloody paw-prints of history and tracks its meaning for all of us.

About the Author

Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, and a Guggenheim fellowship. It was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award. He lives in New York.

Industry Reviews

The first masterpiece in comic book history * New Yorker *
One of the cliches about the Holocaust is that you can't imagine it - Spiegelman disproves this theory * Independent *
A brutally moving work of art * Boston Globe *
In the tradition of Aesop and Orwell, it serves to shock and impart powerful resonance to a well-documented subject. The artwork is so accomplished, forceful and moving * TimeOut *
Spiegelman has turned the exuberant fantasy of comics inside out by giving us the most incredible fantasy in comics' history: something that actually occurred. Maus is terrifying not for its brutality, but for its tenderness and guilt * New Yorker *
An epic story told in tiny pictures * New York Times *
The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust * Wall Street Journal *
Maus is a book that cannot be put down, truly, even to sleep...when you finish Maus, you are unhappy to have left that magical world and long for the sequel that will return you to it -- Umberto Eco
A remarkable feat of documentary detail and novelistic vividness...an unfolding literary event * New York Times Book Review *
The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' * New York Times *
A quiet triumph, moving and simple - impossible to describe accurately, and impossible to achieve in any medium but comics * Washington Post *
All too infrequently, a book comes along that' s as daring as it is acclaimed. Art Spiegelman's Maus is just such a book * Esquire *
A remarkable work, awesome in its conception and execution... at one and the same time a novel, a documentary, a memoir, and a comic book. Brilliant, just brilliant -- Jules Feiffer
Maus is a masterpiece, and it's in the nature of such things to generate mysteries, and pose more questions than they answer. But if the notion of a canon means anything, Maus is there at the heart of it. Like all great stories, it tells us more about ourselves than we could ever suspect -- Philip Pullman
Spiegelman's Maus changed comics forever. Comics now can be about anything -- Alison Bechdel
Reading [his work] has been an amazing lesson in storytelling * Etgar Keret *
It can be easy to forget how much of a game-changer Maus was. * Washington Post *

Such a good story. Very engaging.

5

This will be wonderful as a close study for my English class.

Rural NSW

true

an important story told by a talented graphic artist

4

The Complete Maus is a Pulitzer Prize winning graphic novel by American editor and comics artist, Art Spiegelman. It is a memoir in comic form that documents recollections of the holocaust, as told by Spiegelman's father, Polish Jew Władysław (Zeev/Wladek/Vladek) Spiegelman. The story itself is one that has been told countless times, but Spiegelman's treatment of it makes it unique. As well as his father's recollections, he illustrates the passing of the story between father and son, thus inserting himself (including his impatience and ingratitude) into the story. Maus I (My Father Bleeds History) runs from mid-1930s to winter 1944 and details his parents' courtship and their experience of the war, through the German occupation and being rounded up to live in the ghetto, up until they were taken to Auschwitz. Maus II (And here my troubles began) is divided into five chapters and runs from winter 1944 until the immediate post-war period, with Artie's history taking finishing with his father's death. It covers his parents' time in Auschwitz, displacement camps and their eventual reunion. As with all graphic novels, it can be difficult to distinguish between characters, especially when most of them have the head of a mouse, and sometimes the speech balloons are so small that they make reading the dialogue a challenge, particularly for readers of a certain vintage. But it is immediately clear that a great deal of work has gone into this work, and Spiegelman is obviously a very talented graphic artist, telling an important story.

Thirroul

true

A Must-Read for Holocaust & WWII Germany history

5

Spiegelman's Maus is a must-read for anyone interested in N a z i Germany and Holocaust history. I was introduced to it in Year 9 English and have valued it ever since. Suitable for all ages with engaging illustrations, Maus is a wonderfully constructed reminder of the savagery of World War II Europe.

Manjimup, WA

true

EXCELLENT

5

This was a required Uni Book (Flinders University Adelaide) to read and I loved the format and the storyline so much that I went out and borrowed the Authors follow on book, METAMAUS. A great graphic novel to explain some of the Holocaust story for those who may not read a word book on the topic. Also and excellent memoir.

Adelaide South Australia

true

Remarkable

4

A thoughtfully written masterpiece very challenging concept

Gunnedah AU

true

Pulitzer Prize winning graphic novel

4

This is studied currently by VCE students in Victoria. There are reasons why that is so, and reasons as to why it was awarded the Pulitzer Prize. In a simple and easy to read format it is a book that rewards thought and contemplation. Highly recommended.

Melbourne

true

Great graphic novel. Very informative about holocaust

4

One of the best true story based graphic novels ever written. Would make an excellent tool for educating children and teens about the holocaust and experiences of victims thereof.

Canberra, AU

true

The Complete Maus

4.4 7

100.0

ISBN: 9780141014081
ISBN-10: 0141014083
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 296
Published: 24th November 2003
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 16.3  x 1.6
Weight (kg): 0.67
Edition Number: 1

Earn 48 Qantas Points
on this Book