+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Collected Stories - Reynolds Price

The Collected Stories

Paperback Published: 10th February 2004
ISBN: 9780743244992
Number Of Pages: 640

Share This Book:


RRP $85.99
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Earn 139 Qantas Points
on this Book

For more than four decades, Reynolds Price has been one of America's most distinguished writers, with a career remarkable both for its virtuosity and for the variety of literary forms embraced. Though perhaps best known as a novelist and poet, Price here likewise demonstrates his mastery of the short story.

These fifty stories include two early collections -- "The Names and Faces of Heroes" and "Permanent Errors" -- as well as more than two dozen stories that are gathered only in "The Collected Stories." In his introduction, the author explains how, at one point, he wrote no stories for almost twenty years. "But," he writes, "once I needed -- for unknown reasons in a new and radically altered life -- to return to the story, it opened before me like a new chance." Indeed, chances abound here in stories that will astonish even Price's most devoted readers as they travel through not only the author's native North Carolina but also Jerusalem, the American Southwest, Europe, and Asia.

Industry Reviews

The New York Times Book Review A spellbinding collection, a book to be treasured.
Chicago Tribune Complex, compelling stories....What a pleasure to have in hand.
The New York Times Book Review Nobody writes so well about the joys and sorrows of the family. Nobody else can so deftly capture the lyric intensity of simple happiness.
The Boston Globe Price's best stories are built to last.

ISBN: 9780743244992
ISBN-10: 0743244990
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 640
Published: 10th February 2004
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.3 x 13.3  x 3.8
Weight (kg): 0.66
Edition Number: 1

Earn 139 Qantas Points
on this Book