+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Cat on the Mat Is Flat - Andy Griffiths

The Cat on the Mat Is Flat

By: Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton (Illustrator)

Paperback

Published: August 2006
For Ages: 6+ years old
In Stock. Ships today or next business day from Australia
RRP $12.99
$11.25
13%
OFF
if ordered within

eBook View Product

Published: 10th November 2007
For Ages: 7 - 9 years old
Format: ePUB
$9.99

Other Available Formats (Hide)

  • Audio CD View Product Published: 1st August 2006
    Ships: 5 to 9 business days
    5 to 9 business days
    $14.50

How did the cat on the mat get flat?

Why did Ed and Ted and Ted's dog Fred get spat out of the head of a whale called Ned?

Where was Harry Black when Jack the Yak stole the snack from his sack?

What happened to Buck the Duck's brand new muck-sucking truck?

Who else, apart from Andy G and Terry D, was chased up a tree by an evil bee?

The answers to these stupid questions – and many other stupid questions – are contained in this deeply stupid book... Well, what are you waiting for?

Open the book and start reading!

-Suitable for ages 4 – 104
-Rating: Stupid

About the Author

Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton are a creative partnership that began in earnest with Just Tricking! in 1997 and now extends to five Just books and over a million copies sold, and the award-winning Bad Book. They are now published all over the world including the US where Andy's Bum books have made the New York Times bestseller lists.

WRITE A REVIEW

A very cheeky, mischievous book. Also very fun to read

5

Short but sweet, very funny indeed.

Whyalla South Australia

true

Excellent early reader.

5

I teach children with additional needs on a program called Reading Writing and Riding. It couples Horsemanship with literacy. The range of Andy Griffiths early readers are excellent in their genre of literacy. The themes and dialect are specific to Australian children.

Tasmania

true

Fun Reading :)

4

Purchased this book as a gift for my 3 grandsons - 5,3 & 2. They love having it read to them - enjoying the rhyming words & guessing what comes next.

Patchewollock

true

gift

5

The book was given as gift to adult daughter. The Flat Cat has a history in the family that is too difficult to explain, but the book was much enjoyed.

Wallarobba NSW

true

The Cat on the Mat Is Flat

4.8 4

100.0

"As a teacher, I have already found this book an excellent starting point for children to understand rhyme. In class, the children wanted to try their own funny stories." "Griffiths's ("The Day My Butt Went Psycho!") innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse...Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." - Publishers Weekly .,."meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." - The Excelsior File / blog .,."perfect for fans of Lane Smith's Happy Hockey Family." - Kirkus "Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor....Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages."--"School Library Journal" "Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse....Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor."--"Publishers Weekly" .,."meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." - The Excelsior File / blog "Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's "Happy Hockey Family,"" - "Kirkus Reviews" "Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse. . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor."--Publishers Weekly"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor. . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages."--School Library Journal "Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's HAPPY HOCKEY FAMILY."--Kirkus Reviews "Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of cand "Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse. . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor."-Publishers Weekly"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor. . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages."-School Library Journal "Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's HAPPY HOCKEY FAMILY."-Kirkus Reviews "Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey Praise for "The Cat on the Mat is Flat": "Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages." --"School Library Journal""Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." --"Publishers Weekly""Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." --The Excelsior File (blog)"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's "Happy Hockey Family,"" --"Kirkus Reviews""This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as "The Cat in the Hat" and "The Cat in the Hat Comes Back," It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation's outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun." --Armchair Interviews Praise for "The Cat on the Mat is Flat": "Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages." --"School Library Journal" "Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." --"Publishers Weekly" "Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." --The Excelsior File (blog) "Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's "Happy Hockey Family,"" --"Kirkus Reviews" "This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as "The Cat in the Hat" and "The Cat in the Hat Comes Back," It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation's outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun." --Armchair Interviews

Andy Griffiths

Andy Griffiths is one of Australia’s most popular children’s authors. From his bestselling, award-winning Treehouse series—now published in more than 30 countries—to the JUST! books (both illustrated by long-time friend and collaborator Terry Denton) and The Day My Bum Went Psycho, Andy’s books have captivated and kept Australian kids laughing for more than twenty years.

Andy’s books have been New York Times bestsellers, adapted for stage and television and won over 70 Australian children’s choice awards. Andy, a passionate advocate for literacy, is an ambassador for The Indigenous Literacy Foundation and The Pyjama Foundation.

Visit Andy Griffiths's Booktopia Author Page


ISBN: 9780330422604
ISBN-10: 033042260X
Audience: Children
For Ages: 6+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 180
Published: August 2006
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 13.1  x 1.2
Weight (kg): 0.16
Edition Number: 1