Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Briar Book of the Dead - A. G. Slatter

The Briar Book of the Dead

By: A. G. Slatter

Paperback | 13 February 2024

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Set in the same universe as the acclaimed All the Murmuring Bones and The Path of Thorns (one of Oprah Daily's Top 25 Fantasy Novels of 2022), this beautifully told Gothic fairy tale of ghosts, witches, deadly secrets and past sins, will be perfect for fans of Hannah Whitten and Ava Reid.

Ellie Briar is the first non-witch to be born into her family for generations. The Briar family of witches run the town of Silverton, caring for its inhabitants with their skills and magic. In the usual scheme of things, they would be burnt for their sorcery, but the church has given them dispensation in return for their protection of the borders of the Darklands, where the much-feared Leech Lords hold sway.

Ellie is being trained as a steward, administering for the town, and warding off the insistent interest of the church. When her grandmother dies suddenly, Ellie’s cousin Audra rises to the position of Briar Witch, propelling Ellie into her new role. As she navigates fresh challenges, an unexpected new ability to see and speak to the dead leads her to uncover sinister family secrets, stories of burnings, lost grimoires and evil spells. Reeling from one revelation to the next, she seeks answers from the long dead and is forced to decide who to trust, as a devastating plot threatens to destroy everything the Briar witches have sacrificed so much to build.

Told in the award-winning author's trademark gorgeous, addictive prose, this is an intricately woven tale of a family of witches struggling against the bonds of past sins and persecution.

About the Author

A.G. Slatter Angela has won a Shirley Jackson Award, a World Fantasy Award, a British Fantasy Award, a Ditmar, three Australian Shadows Awards and eight Aurealis Awards. Most recently, All the Murmuring Bones was shortlisted for the 2021 Queensland Premier's Literary Awards Book of the Year and the 2021 Shirley Jackson Award; The Path of Thorns won the 2022 Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel and the 2022 Australian Shadows Award for Best Novel. She has an MA and a PhD in Creative Writing, is a graduate of Clarion South 2009 and the Tin House Summer Writers Workshop 2006. Angela's short stories have appeared in many Best Of anthologies, and her work has been translated into many languages.

She lives in Brisbane, Australia.

More in Fantasy Fiction

Empire Of The Vampire : Empire Of The Vampire - Jay Kristoff
Throne of Glass : Throne of Glass - Sarah J. Maas

RRP $22.99

$21.75

Berserk: Deluxe Edition, Vol. 12 : Berserk - Kentaro Miura

RRP $84.99

$56.25

34%
OFF
The Witchfinder's Mark : A Samuel Hawke Story - Paul M Clark

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$19.95

33%
OFF
The Rising : The Branded Season: Book 2 - Jo Riccioni

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Bone Rites - Natalie Bayley

FREE SHIPPING

Paperback

RRP $21.99

$20.90

Solo Leveling, Vol. 1 : Light Novel - Chugong

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $27.99

$22.75

19%
OFF
The Gathering - C. J. Tudor

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Dragon Rider - Taran Matharu

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Hidden Queen : The Nightfall Saga - Peter V. Brett

RRP $35.99

$32.50

10%
OFF
A Touch of Chaos : Hades X Persephone: Book 4 - Scarlett St. Clair
The Bone Season : Anniversary Edition - Samantha Shannon

RRP $22.99

$21.90

The Sinister Booksellers of Bath - Garth Nix

RRP $24.99

$23.75