+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Book of Secrets : The Ateban Cipher Book 1 - A. L Tait

The Book of Secrets

The Ateban Cipher Book 1

By: A. L Tait

Paperback

Published: 12th September 2017
For Ages: 8 - 12 years old
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $14.99
$12.50
17%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 12th September 2017
For Ages: 8 - 12 years old
Format: ePUB
$9.99

A new adventure for fans of Rick Riordan and Emily Rodda

What's the secret of the book, and why is it so valuable? These are the questions Gabe must answer when a dying man hands him a coded manuscript with one instruction: take it to Aidan. Gabe is hurled into a quest that takes him beyond his monastery home and into a world of danger, political intrigue and adventure.

As he seeks to decipher the code and find a mystery man who may not even exist, Gabe learns that survival must be earned and that some of life's biggest lessons are not found in books.

Gabe finds himself questioning everything he knows about right and wrong and wondering if he'll ever find a way back home. He also discovers that the biggest secret of all may be his own.

About the Author

A.L. Tait grew up dreaming of world domination. Unfortunately, at the time there were only alphabet sisters B.L. and C.A. and long-suffering brother M.D.M. to practise on . . . and parents who didn't look kindly upon sword fights, plank-walking or bows and arrows. But dreams don't die and The Mapmaker Chronicles and The Ateban Cipher, the author's series of books for children, are the result. A.L. lives in country New South Wales with a family, a garden and three goldfish. A.L. Tait writes fiction and non-fiction for adults under another name.

WRITE A REVIEW

Read in three days!

5

Gave this to Mr12 for Christmas, he started reading straight away and was done in three days! Absolutely loved it and can't wait for the next book. Will definitely be reading it again.

Brisbane

Rip roaring adventure for readers of all ages

5

How refreshing to have an adventure book with such a range of female characters! Young monk in training Gabe is handed a mysterious book and must run from the only life he's known in order to protect it. Enter a team of amazing forest dwelling girls who help him stay alive and start to solve the mystery of the Ateban Cipher. Merry is my absolute favourite character, and I love Gwen's no nonsense way of dealing with life. If you have a young girl (or even boy!) in your life, they need to read this book so they can see that girls in fantasy don't have to be crying damsels or special snowflakes. Girls can just be girls and still kick butt. Looking forward to part 2!

Melbourne, Australia

I read it in one sitting

5

My kids loved AL Tait's first series The Mapmaker Chronicles, so we were eagerly anticipating this book. I can confidently say that it's just as good as the Mapmaker series. The characters are engaging and memorable and the story just rips along. It's absolutely fascinating. I read the book in one sitting and I noticed my 13-year-old son is trying to do the same (sorry, mate, school!). You know it's a good kids' book when the cover becomes their face non-stop. My 11-year-old daughter is patiently waiting for her turn! Well done, AL Tait. More please!

Sydney

The Book of Secrets

5.0 3

0.0

an exciting adventure read and an immersive story

***** - SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

Not since Emily Rodda's DELTORA QUEST series has there been such an exciting adventure tale from an Australian author. Echoes of Robinson Crusoe make this feel like a classic with a new twist, and it's perfect for readers aged 8 to 12 who are looking for some escapism in the sea of contemporary stories. - Readings on A.L. Tait s RACE TO THE END OF THE WORLD

Great white beasts and would-be pirates will capture the attention of young readers ... recommended for fans of adventure books from Emily Rodda and Andrew McGahan. - BOOKS + PUBLISHING on A.L. Tait s PRISONER OF THE BLACK HAWK

Buy it immediately for any lad over eight who is a keen reader. - readingtree.com.au on A.L. Tait s PRISONER OF THE BLACK HAWK

ISBN: 9780734417671
ISBN-10: 0734417675
Series: The Ateban Cipher
Audience: Children
For Ages: 8 - 12 years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 256
Published: 12th September 2017
Publisher: Hachette Australia
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.3 x 13.2  x 1.9
Weight (kg): 0.25
Edition Number: 1