+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Black Swan : The Impact of the Highly Improbable - Nassim Nicholas Taleb

The Black Swan

The Impact of the Highly Improbable

Paperback Published: 2nd June 2008
ISBN: 9780141034591
Number Of Pages: 400

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $24.99
$20.35
19%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 41 Qantas Points
on this Book

The Black Swan is a concept that will change the way you look at the world. Black Swans underlie almost everything, from the rise of religions, to events in our own lives. A Black Swan is a highly improbable event with three principle characteristics- it's unpredictable; carries a massive impact; and, after the fact, we concoct an explanation that makes it appear less random than it was. The astonishing success of Google was a black swan; so was 9/11. Nassim Nicholas Taleb reveals that we are hard-wired not to truly estimate risk, too vulnerable to the impulse to simplify, narrate, and categorize and not open enough to rewarding those who can imagine the 'impossible'. In this revelatory book, Taleb explains everything we know about what we don't know, and shows us how to face the world.

Industry Reviews

Great fun ... brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling * Freakonomics *
An idiosyncratically brilliant new book * Sunday Telegraph *
A fascinating study of how we are regularly taken for suckers by the unexpected * Guardian *
Like the conversation of a raconteur ... hugely enjoyable - compelling * Financial Times *
Confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot * Sunday Times *
In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and The Tipping Point * Time *

ISBN: 9780141034591
ISBN-10: 0141034599
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 2nd June 2008
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 2.4
Weight (kg): 0.36
Edition Number: 1

Earn 41 Qantas Points
on this Book

Nassim Nicholas Taleb

About the Author


Nassim Nicholas Taleb spent two decades as a risk taker before becoming a full-time essayist and scholar focusing on practical and philosophical problems with chance, luck, and probability. His focus in on how different systems handle disorder. He now spends most of his time in the intense seclusion of his study, or as a flâneur meditating in cafés. In addition to his life as a trader he spend several years as an academic researcher ( Distinguished Professor at New York University's School of Engineering, Dean's Professor at U. Mass Amherst).

 He is the author of the Incerto (latin for uncertainty), accessible in any order (Antifragile, The Black Swan, The Bed of Procrustes, and Fooled by Randomness) plus a freely available technical version, Silent Risk. Taleb has also published close to 55 academic and scholarly papers as a backup, technical footnotes to the Incerto in topics ranging from Statistical Physics to International affairs. Taleb's books have more than 100 translations in 35 languages. Taleb believes that prizes, honorary degrees, awards, and ceremonialism debase knowledge by turning it into a spectator sport.

Visit Nassim Nicholas Taleb's Booktopia Author Page