+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Art of Music and Other Essays : (A Travers Chants) - Hector Berlioz

The Art of Music and Other Essays

(A Travers Chants)

Hardcover Published: 22nd June 1994
ISBN: 9780253311641
Number Of Pages: 296

Share This Book:


RRP $97.99
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 159 Qantas Points
on this Book

"Berlioz the person-composer-writer is the sensitive child of his century and a most passionate voice of his time." -- The Opera Quarterly

"Berlioz could hardly have been better served than by the translator of this English edition... It is an invaluable and long-overdue addition to the Berlioz literature in English. Elisabeth Csicsery-RA3nay has given us an A travers chants for the millennium." -- Music and Letters

Hector Berlioz (1803-1869) was equally prominent as composer and music critic. A Travers Chants is the collection of writings he himself selected from his thirty-odd years of musical journalism. This new translation, phrased in lively, idiomatic English and annotated for the twentieth-century reader, is illustrated with lithographs and drawings from Berlioz's lifetime.

TranslatorÕs Note
The Art of MusicA Critical Study of BeethovenÕs Nine Symphonies
A Few Words about the Trios and Sonatas of Beethoven
Fidelio Beethoven in the Rings of Saturn
The Emoluments of Singers
The Current State of the Art of Singing
Good Singers and BadGluckÕs Orphee
Lines Written Soon After the First Performance of Orphee at the Theatre-Lyrique
The Alceste of Euripides and Those of Quinault and Calzabigi
The Revival of GluckÕs Alceste at the Opera
Instruments Added by Modern Composers to the Scores of Old MastersHigh and Low Sounds
Der Freischutz Oberon Abu-Hassan
The Abduction from the Seraglio
The Method Discovered by M. Delsarte for Tuning Instruments
On Church Music Musical Customs of China
Letter to the Academy of Fine Arts of the Institue
The Rise in Concert Pitch
The End Is Near
The Richard Wagner Concerts
Sunt Lacrymae Rerum
The Symphonies of
Stephen Heller Romeo
Concerning a Ballet Based on Faust
To Be or Not to Be
Appendix: The Lapdog School
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780253311641
ISBN-10: 0253311640
Series: A Travers Chants
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 296
Published: 22nd June 1994
Publisher: Indiana University Press
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 24.77 x 16.51  x 2.54
Weight (kg): 0.61
Edition Type: Annotated

Earn 159 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by