+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
That Way Murder Lies (Mitchell & Markby 15) : A cosy Cotswolds crime novel of old friends, old mysteries and new murders - Ann Granger

That Way Murder Lies (Mitchell & Markby 15)

A cosy Cotswolds crime novel of old friends, old mysteries and new murders

Paperback Published: 2nd August 2004
ISBN: 9780747268055
Number Of Pages: 384

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $29.99
$22.50
25%
OFF
Ships in 15 business days

A chilling secret from the past leads to a violent murder in the present...

Mitchell and Markby must put their wedding plans on hold when an old friend seeks their help in That Way Murder Lies, the fifteenth English village murder mystery in Ann Granger's Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Kathy Cranston, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.

When Meredith Mitchell's old friend Toby Smythe turns up on leave, she is delighted to see him. But Toby has a problem - or rather his relative Alison Jenner has - and he wants to enlist the help of Meredith's fiance, Detective Superintendent Alan Markby. Alison has been receiving anonymous hate mail which alludes to the murder of her aunt, Freda Kemp, of which Alison was acquitted when she was just twenty. Who is the writer, and how does he or she know about this secret in Alison's past?

Markby is at first reluctant to become involved, especially as he and Meredith are busy planning their wedding, but enquiries into a poison pen campaign soon turn into a murder hunt. With the help of Inspector Jessica Campbell, a new member of Markby's team, the investigation unravels a twenty-five-year-old mystery and its dreadful legacy of violence.

What readers are saying about That Way Murder Lies:

'Enjoyable, clever, incredibly entertaining and interesting book'

'Anyone who enjoys a delightful English cosy that is a clever blending of amateur sleuth and police procedural will enjoy this series!'

'Quite a mystery right up to the very end'

Alison Jenner's heart sinks when the postman makes a new delivery. She knows what will have been shoved through her letterbox - more hate mail, another accusation that she murdered her aunt long ago. Worse, perhaps, a promise that Alison's secret will be made public. So begins a new Detective Superintendent Alan Markby story - one in which he is at first reluctant to become involved. Alan and his fiancee Meredith Mitchell are preparing to marry and he sees no point in pursuing a poison-pen writer simply because he has been asked to by a relative of Alison Jenner. Despite himself, Alan is drawn into a labyrinthine plot of hatred and bile, and soon the case throws up a murder. As ever, Granger's characters leap off the page in their three-dimensional reality, and their dialogue is both crisp and witty. Another searingly good whodunnit.(Kirkus UK)

ISBN: 9780747268055
ISBN-10: 0747268053
Series: Mitchell and Markby Mystery Ser.
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 2nd August 2004
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 17.8 x 10.9  x 2.4
Weight (kg): 0.21
Edition Number: 1