Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Ten Thousand Aftershocks - Michelle Tom

Ten Thousand Aftershocks

By: Michelle Tom

Paperback | 1 September 2021

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%OFF

Aims to ship in 30 to 35 business days

A powerful, poetic and moving memoir of family, violence and estrangement, from a stunning new literary voice.

After Michelle Tom's house was damaged by a deadly magnitude 6.3 earthquake in Christchurch, New Zealand in 2011, she and her young family suffered through another 10,000 aftershocks before finally relocating to the stability of Melbourne, Australia. But soon after arriving, Michelle received the news that her estranged sister was dying. Determined to reconnect before her sister died, Michelle flew home to visit, and memories of childhood flooded back.

Told through the five stages of an earthquake via remembered fragments, Michelle Tom explores the similarities between seismic upheaval and her own family's tragedies: her sister's terminal illness, her brother's struggle with schizophrenia and ultimate suicide, the sudden death of her father, her own panic disorder and through it all, one overarching battle - her lifelong struggle to form a healthy connection with her mother.

A powerful, poetic and moving memoir of family, violence and estrangement, Ten Thousand Aftershocks weaves together a series of ever-widening and far-reaching emotional and seismic aftershocks, in a beautifully written and compelling account of a dark family drama. For readers of The Erratics and One Hundred Years of Dirt.

About the Author

Michelle Tom began her writing career as a print journalist in her native New Zealand. A chapter from Ten Thousand Aftershocks placed second in the Writers Victoria Marion Grace Wilson Emerging Writers Competition (nonfiction section) in 2019 and appeared in the November issue of The Victorian Writer. Michelle was selected for the ACT Writers Centre HARDCOPY 2019 nonfiction program and was one of five writers chosen for a week-long Varuna Memoir Masterclass with Patti Miller in 2017.

Michelle lives in Melbourne with her husband and two youngest children.
Industry Reviews
'An intricately structured memoir weaving the Christchurch earthquakes with the lifelong effects of family trauma and mental illness, Ten Thousand Aftershocks is brave, eloquent and suspenseful.'
Louisa Deasey A Letter from Paris

More in Memoirs

Down With the System : A Memoir (Of Sorts) - Serj Tankian

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
An Autobiography of Trauma : A Healing Journey - Peter A. Levine

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
Knife : Meditations After an Attempted Murder - Salman Rushdie

RRP $36.99

$29.75

20%
OFF
Is That You, Ruthie? : First Nations Classics - Jackie Huggins
Graft : Motherhood, Family and a Year on the Land - Maggie MacKellar

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Light We Carry : Overcoming In Uncertain Times - Michelle Obama
Because I Love Him - Ashlee Donohue

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
Hana : The audacity to be free - Hana Assafiri

RRP $34.95

$28.35

19%
OFF
Better Man - Isaac Butterfield

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$34.95

The Voice Inside - John Farnham

RRP $49.99

$38.75

22%
OFF
Strange Little Girl - Jessica Knight

RRP $36.99

$29.75

20%
OFF
The Life of Dai - Dai Henwood

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Uses for Obsession : A Chef's Memoir - Ben Shewry

RRP $36.99

$29.75

20%
OFF
Educated : The international bestselling memoir - Tara Westover

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Life Goes On - Megan Maurice

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF