+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Teenage Writings : World's Classics - Jane Austen

Teenage Writings

World's Classics

Paperback Published: 29th May 2017
ISBN: 9780198737452
Number Of Pages: 400
For Ages: 15 - 18 years old

Share This Book:


Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 36 Qantas Points
on this Book

'Jane Austen practising' Virginia Woolf Three notebooks of Jane Austen's early writings survive. The pieces probably date from 1786 or 1787, around the time that Jane, aged 11 or 12, and her older sister and collaborator Cassandra left school. By this point Austen was already an indiscriminate and precocious reader, devouring pulp fiction and classic literature alike; what she read, she soon began to imitate and parody. Unlike many teenage writings then and now, these are not secret or agonized confessions entrusted to a private journal and for the writer's eyes alone. Rather, they are stories to be shared and admired by a named audience of family and friends. Devices and themes which appear subtly in Austen's later fiction run riot openly and exuberantly across the teenage page. Drunkenness, brawling, sexual misdemeanour, theft, and even murder prevail. It is as if Lydia Bennett is the narrator.

Industry Reviews

...a brilliantly readable [edition]...What is often most engaging and amusing about this bravura writing is Austen's un-restrained comic mayhem. * Francis O'Gorman, Reviews31.co.uk *
Professor Kathryn Sutherland and University Lecturer Freya Johnston skilfully edit this fascinating collection of Austen's early teenage writings ... This new edition provides fresh readings of individual texts, and the explanatory notes accompanying them offer to expand our sense of what the young Austen might have been reading and responding to at the time. * Reader's Digest *

Introduction Chronology of Composition of Items in the Teenage Notebooks Note on the Text Note on Spelling Select Bibliography A Chronology of Jane Austen MapsVOLUME THE FIRST Frederic & Elfrida Jack & Alice Edgar & Emma Henry & Eliza Mr Harley Sir William Mountague Mr Clifford The beautifull Cassandra Amelia Webster The Visit The Mystery The three Sisters Detached peices Ode to PityVOLUME THE SECOND Love and Friendship Lesley-Castle The History of England Collection of Letters ScrapsVOLUME THE THIRD Evelyn Kitty, or the BowerFAMILY CONTINUATIONS TO VOLUME THE THIRD Continuation of 'Evelyn', by James Edward Austen Continuation of 'Evelyn', by Anna Lefroy Continuation of 'Kitty, or the Bower', by James Edward AustenAPPENDIX Letter of Sophia Sentiment from The Loiterer, 28 March 1789 Abbreviations Textual Notes Explanatory Notes

ISBN: 9780198737452
ISBN-10: 0198737459
Series: World's Classics
Audience: General
For Ages: 15 - 18 years old
For Grades: 7 - 9
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 29th May 2017
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.7 x 12.9  x 2.0
Weight (kg): 0.28

Earn 36 Qantas Points
on this Book

Jane Austen

About the Author

Jane Austen was born on 16 December 1775 at Steventon, near Basingstoke, the seventh child of the rector of the parish. She lived with her family at Steventon until they moved to Bath when her father retired in 1801. After his death in 1805, she moved around with her mother; in 1809, they settled in Chawton, near Alton, Hampshire. Here she remained, except for a few visits to London, until in May 1817 she moved to Winchester to be near her doctor. There she died on 18 July 1817.

Jane Austen was extremely modest about her own genius, describing her work to her nephew, Edward, as 'the little bit (two Inches wide) of Ivory, on which I work with so fine a Brush, as produces little effect after much labour'.

As a girl she wrote stories, including burlesques of popular romances. Her works were published only after much revision, four novels being published in her lifetime.

These are Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1815). Two other novels, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion, were published posthumously in 1817 with a biographical notice by her brother, Henry Austen, the first formal announcement of her authorship. Persuasion was written in a race against failing health in 1815-16. She also left two earlier compositions, a short epistolary novel, Lady Susan, and an unfinished novel, The Watsons. At the time of her death, she was working on a new novel, Sanditon, a fragmentary draft of which survives.

Visit Jane Austen's Booktopia Author Page