+612 9045 4394
Summertime - J M Coetzee


Published: 2nd August 2010
For Ages: 15 - 18 years old
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $19.99

eBook View Product

Published: 1st November 2010
Format: ePUB
RRP $19.99

A rich, funny, and deeply affecting autobiographical novel from one of the world's greatest living writers.

A young English biographer is working on a book about the late writer, John Coetzee. He plans to focus on the years from 1972–1977 when Coetzee, in his thirties, is sharing a run-down cottage in the suburbs of Cape Town with his widowed father. This, the biographer senses, is the period when he was 'finding his feet as a writer'.

Never having met Coetzee, he embarks on a series of interviews with people who were important to him – a married woman with whom he had an affair, his favourite cousin Margot, a Brazilian dancer whose daughter had English lessons with him, former friends and colleagues. From their testimony emerges a portrait of the young Coetzee as an awkward, bookish individual with little talent for opening himself to others. Within the family he is regarded as an outsider, someone who tried to flee the tribe and has now returned, chastened. His insistence on doing manual work, his long hair and beard, rumours that he writes poetry evoke nothing but suspicion in the South Africa of the time.

About the Author

J.M. Coetzee's work includes DUSKLANDS In the heart of the country, WAITING FOR THE BARBARIANS, which was awarded the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the CNA Prize, LIFE AND TIMES OF MICHAEL K, which won the Booker Prize and the Prix Etranger Femina, FOE, AGE OF IRON, which won the Sunday Express Book of the Year Award, THE MASTER OF PETERSBURG, which won the Irish Times International Fiction Award and the memoirs BOYHOOD and YOUTH: Scenes from Provincial Life. His novel, DISGRACE, won the Booker Prize, making him the first author to have won this prestigious prize twice. His more recent novels include ELIZABETH COSTELLO, DIARY OF A BAD YEAR and SLOW MAN. SUMMERTIME has been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for South-East Asia and the Pacific, and the Adelaide Festival Literature Award. It won the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction at the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards in 2009.

J M Coetzee

J.M. Coetzee's work includes Waiting For the Barbarians, Life & Times of Michael K, Boyhood, Youth, Disgrace and Diary of a Bad Year. He was the first author to win the Booker Prize twice and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003.

Visit J M Coetzee's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9781741669039
ISBN-10: 1741669030
Audience: General
For Ages: 15 - 18 years old
For Grades: 11 - 12
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 272
Published: 2nd August 2010
Publisher: Random House Australia
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.7 x 11.5  x 2.0
Weight (kg): 0.24
Edition Number: 1