+612 9045 4394
Strip Jack / The Black Book / Mortal Causes : Rebus : Rebus : The St Leonard's Years Books 4-6 - Ian Rankin

Strip Jack / The Black Book / Mortal Causes : Rebus

Rebus : The St Leonard's Years Books 4-6

Paperback Published: 21st December 2001
ISBN: 9780752846569
Number Of Pages: 704

Share This Book:
Ships in 15 business days

Strip Jack : MP Gregor Jack is caught in an Edinburgh brothel with a prostitute only too keen to show off her considerable assets. Initially, Detective Inspector Rebus is sympathetic to the MP's dilemma - who hasn't occasionally succumbed to temptation? Then Jack's wife disappears. Someone wants to strip Jack naked and Rebus wants to know why.

The Black Book: When a close colleague is brutally attacked, Rebus is drawn into a case involving a hotel fire, an unidentified body and a long-forgotten night of terror and murder. Pursued by dangerous ghosts and tormented by the cooled secrets of his colleague's notebook, Rebus must piece together a jigsaw that no one seems to want completed.

Moral Causes: It is August in Edinburgh and the festival is in full swing when a brutally tortured body is discovered in one of the city's ancient subterranean streets. Rebus suspects the involvement of sectarian activists. The prospect of terrorism in a city heaving with tourists is unthinkable. And when the victim turns out to be the son of a notorious gangster Rebus realises he is sitting atop a volcano of mayhem about to erupt.

ISBN: 9780752846569
ISBN-10: 0752846566
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 704
Published: 21st December 2001
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.5 x 16.8  x 4.6
Weight (kg): 0.89
Edition Number: 1

Ian Rankin

About the Author

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into twenty-two languages and are bestsellers on several continents.

Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for '
Resurrection Men'. He has also been shortlisted for the Edgar and Anthony Awards in the USA, and won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis.

Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews and Edinburgh.

A contributor to BBC2's 'Newsnight Review', he also presented his own TV series, 'Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts'. He recently received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons.

Visit Ian Rankin's Booktopia Author Page

This product is categorised by