+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Stop Pretending : What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy - Sonya Sones

Stop Pretending

What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy

Paperback Published: 12th July 2016
ISBN: 9780064462181
Number Of Pages: 160
For Ages: 12 - 14 years old

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book

It happens just like that, in the blink of an eye. An older sister has a mental breakdown and has to be hospitalized. A younger sister is left behind to cope with a family torn apart by grief and friends who turn their backs on her. But worst of all is the loss of her big sister, her confidante, her best friend, who has gone someplace no one can reach.

In the tradition of "The Bell Jar, I Never Promised You a Rose Garden, " and " Lisa, Bright and Dark" comes this haunting first book told in poems, and based on the true story of the author's life.

2000 Best Books for Young Adults (ALA) and 2000 Quick Picks for Young Adults (Recomm. Books for Reluctant Young Readers)

Industry Reviews

"The poems have a cumulative emotional power." -- ALA Booklist (starred review) "Heartfelt." -- KLIATT (starred review) "The poems take on life and movement, the individual frames of a movie that in the unspooling become animated, telling a compelling tale." -- Kirkus Reviews "Unpretentious. Accessible. Deeply felt." -- School Library Journal "Sensitively written." -- The Horn Book "This debut novel shows the capacity of poetry to record the personal and translate it into the universal." -- Chicago Tribune "Stop Pretending is a tour de force debut. It celebrates truth-telling, and has a purity and passion that speaks to the heart." -- Boston Globe

ISBN: 9780064462181
ISBN-10: 0064462188
Audience: Children
For Ages: 12 - 14 years old
For Grades: 7 - 9
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 160
Published: 12th July 2016
Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 18.42 x 12.7  x 1.27
Weight (kg): 0.14

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book